Review: Every Part of You: Tempts Me, by Megan Hart

17698342

 

Part of a series? Yes, it’s a serial.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: Erotica.

Genre: Contemporary.

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Pages: 45.

Blurb:

She likes to watch. He likes to keep hidden. Total opposites on a collision course to a relationship neither can deny.

Simone Kahan’s been watching Elliott Anderson through her office window for months. He likes to bring women back to his office for late-night trysts, and Simone enjoys her voyeurism until one night, Elliott appears to go too far with his date. The other woman might not be into spanking, but Simone is, and when she meets Elliott in the elevator later that night, she makes sure he’s intrigued enough by her to ask her to go with him to the party he no longer has a date for.

Thrown together by circumstances he’d never have imagined, Elliott isn’t sure what to think about Simone. She’s nothing like the women he normally dates, but something about her draws him in until he can’t stop himself from wanting her…until their goodnight kiss becomes something harder. Harsher. Simone responds to his rough hands as no woman ever has, and Elliott’s not ready to pursue what he’s always told himself is wrong.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This first installment in the erotica serial Every Part of You is not what I hoped it would be. Unfortunately, in my opinion it falls in the trap many serials fall into.

There is close to no real characterization.

I know it’s an erotica serial which means that it’s not necessarily character centered and I get it, but still. Here, we’re just launched in the story without a real inkling as to who Elliott and Simone are. I know that the short length of these “episodes“ makes it important that the story starts immediately, but I think that doesn’t mean you can’t find some real characterization or at least something that would make the set of characters likable.

Here, Simone and Elliott aren’t likable. I don’t like them, I don’t understand them and I don’t really care about them. There’s no idea of what their emotions are. The authors wrote a few things about it, but honestly it felt off and doesn’t truly show us anything of what they feel other than lust.

And Elliott is so… Argh! I really think he’s a grade A asshole. I wouldn’t mind if only he had a redeeming quality, but at this moment I can’t find one.

And Simone is just ridiculous to be honest. I don’t mind her lust filled thoughts, her kinky desires, but she doesn’t come across as a mature grown up!

The writing style doesn’t blow my mind either. The descriptions are close to non-existent in some parts, the plot is quite obscure unless it’s just to see the characters get laid… No, I know I’m rather harsh but here I’m extremely disappointed.

And yet, you can honestly feel the lust so the author portrayed that close to perfection. I guess that I’m more a fan of erotica books that are not just centered on the sex so this serial must not be for me. I will not read the next installments.

 

RATING:

1.5 to 20140103-095135.jpg for the effort.

Leave a Reply

