Review: Secret Surrender, by Priscilla West

18457454

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance with some erotic scenes.

Self-published.

Pages: 224.

Blurb:

“What gives you a thrill Kristen?”

I knew that giving in to Vincent Sorenson was a risk, but it was one I was willing to take. I had hidden my heart for so long and for the first time in a long time, Vincent was close to breaking down the walls.

When a trip to Vincent’s exclusive private island reveals the real Vincent underneath the layers of suave nonchalance, I thought we were close to the start of something special.

Just when things were looking up for us, I would discover the one secret that Vincent never intended for me to find.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This second installment has me a little annoyed with Kristen which I find more whining and demanding than I expected. Granted, I understand her behavior to a certain extent, but to be honest her doubts and tears annoyed me pretty fast in this installment.

I still don’t know what to expect from Vincent and I think his characterization is pretty weak. There’s nothing deep so far and many scenes were not detailed which would have otherwise helped his characterization and even Kristen’s.

Though, the sex scenes are very much detailed! In fact, I think these sex scene while very hot and well-written, take too much space in the story instead of the plot and twists. When I think back to what happened so far between Kristen and Vincent, other than the sex I can’t exactly find anything worth mentioning.

Even though the installments in this series are rather short, I think that doesn’t mean the plot, twists and even sub-plots should be overlooked. There is material for something wonderful here and unfortunately the execution is lacking that little something to win me over.

The writing is simple but efficient, the emotions not exactly always reaching out to me and the chemistry between Vincent and Kristen not that interesting to be honest. That’s also because I would have loved something that would have gripped me more firmly, something that would have made my heart flutter instead of just showing me how horny these characters are.

Also, the relationship is getting serious so fast! At least, Kristen is getting serious quite fast. Once again, I don’t understand the evolution here and somehow it’s really frustrating for me. Kristen comes across as insecure and weak which I didn’t peg her that way after reading the first installment.

The whole “sub-plot“ with Marty isn’t developed and I don’t think it’s wise to leave it only for the last installment. There’s no build up there too. There should have been some build up to make the reading experience thrilling and to make us/me fear for Kristen and Vincent’s relationship but also for Kristen’s security. Here, there’s only info dump about him and no real twist or evolution.

The ending was predictable and not that great. I am going to read the last installment very soon, but I’m not sure that I will finally see what I’m craving: something emotional beyond the sex between Vincent and Kristen, something that would finally make me believe in them.

I’m still unsure if my expectations were too high or if my genuine disappointment is justified. I guess it depends if you’re expecting some real contemporary romance on the hot side that will sweep you off your feet or if you’re expecting a contemporary romance with hot scenes just to chill during the weekend.

 

RATING:

 

3

Leave a Reply

