Review: Forbidden Surrender, by Priscilla West

18277024

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? There’s no real end, but I can’t exactly qualify the ending as a cliffhanger.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Self-published.

Pages: 218.

Blurb:

“What gives you a thrill Kristen?”

The minute I saw Vincent Sorenson, I knew he was trouble. Billionaire. Bad boy. And dangerously sexy. He was everything I craved, and nothing I needed.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t just avoid him. The higher ups at my company decided they needed his business, and I was on the team to bring him in. Vincent Sorenson didn’t seem as interested in business as he was in me, but I knew that was a door better left unopened. If I got involved with him, it would only unearth the pain I spent years trying to bury.

I thought I had it under control, but I seriously underestimated Vincent’s seductive charm and silver-tongue. I would soon find out how delicious it would feel to let myself fall into this forbidden surrender.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS.

 

Review:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is the first one in the Surrender trilogy, it’s fast paced and is built in such a way that it’s best to have the other books ready on your reading app because this first installment can’t be read as a standalone. More like an introduction.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I enjoyed reading it and even finished it in a few short hours, but I couldn’t shake that feeling of déjà vu. I know that the same tropes have been used countless times in contemporary romance novels and I don’t mind it as long as the characters have that something extra that makes it thrilling to follow them. Though here I think it’s a little bit cliché. I’ll try to explain myself even though it’s complicated to sort out my thoughts on this first installment.

This installment is fairly short which means that the action, the plot and the characters have to be interesting and the author needs to settle things pretty fast. Here, I think the author navigated well in introducing the characters to us, but unfortunately the characters come across as a cliché right now. I don’t mind clichés as long as I have that little spark, that little something sometimes I’m unable to explain, that wins me over. Here, I’m still undecided which makes it rather difficult to rate this book and review it.

While I like Kristen’s background and enjoy how her past is hinted at and I look forward to see it colliding with the present, she’s a little too much like the usual female main characters out there. She’s more shadowing the male character than actually taking actions. I don’t know, somehow I would have loved to see her struggling a little more when it comes to Vincent to make it more believable that it’s a “forbidden surrender’’. I think more build up would have been wonderful and would have won me over completely. And it would have given more power to Kristen and subsequently would have enforced her characterization. Of course, it’s my opinion.

When it comes to Vincent, I’m more unsure of what to think. Somehow, he’s just like the usual CEO borderline “alpha-male“ but at the same time there’s that hint at a bad-boy persona. That’s quite an heady cocktail, but here it’s not fully working on me. I like the little mysteries surrounding him that were hinted at throughout the book, but I’m not fully invested in his story with Kristen to fully be drawn. I think I don’t see enough of that spark between Vincent and Kristen to fully care. Once again, maybe it’s because I have an off day or something. I’m pretty sure I’m one of very few thinking that way.

The plot itself doesn’t evolve much in this installment. Aside from the very short seducing game between Vincent and Kristen, there’s nothing much happening. Many things are hinted at which makes me think of this book as an introduction and not exactly as a full story. That’s an interesting choice made by the author and that also means I’m going to read the next book now because I’m not sure to remember this first installment in a few weeks.

The secondary characters, mainly Riley, are interesting. They’re supporting Kristen’s characters quite well and add some dimension to the story.

The writing of this author is good. I don’t see anything bad even though maybe I would have loved to actually feel more emotions here and there. Somehow, I felt like I was kept at arms’ length.

There’re all the perfect ingredients to make this trilogy really addictive and I hope the next installment will kick start things a little more and fully win me over. I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

What do you think of Vincent?

 

Rating:

3.5 to 4 (I hesitated between 3 and 4 stars).

 

Leave a Reply

