Review: Until Alex, by J. Nathan

22089015

Part of a series? No.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Self-published.

Pages: 312.

Blurb:

On the outside, Hayden is every girl’s fantasy, brooding and devastatingly gorgeous. He spends his nights losing himself in alcohol and faceless girls, but it’s all just a facade. An elaborate cover for the emotionless shell of a man he is. One who harbors too many secrets and destroys lives the way his was destroyed. It’s the reason he avoids relationships and keeps everyone at arm’s length…

Until Alex

Alex’s life just shattered into a million pieces, leaving her with more grief than she knows what to do with and guilt so deep it’s destroyed the carefree girl she once was. Now she’s hundreds of miles from home, living with an aunt she doesn’t know, finishing senior year at a college she’s never been to, and trying desperately to get through a single day without breaking down. She’s never felt more alone in her life…

Until Hayden

The trouble with Hayden is who he wants to be and who he is are in constant flux. And though he’d die before letting Alex learn the truth about him, he can’t be sure he’s strong enough to let her in…or push her away. She’s the one person who just might see the real him.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book really got to me. As soon as I was finished with the prologue, I was hooked and my heart was already hurting for Hayden. Right away I knew the author’s writing would leave a mark on me.

It’s been a while since I last felt so much for the characters in books. I often want to read more of the stories, want to know what happens next and such, but to actually feel pain for them, it’s not often that it happens.

Hayden and Alex are amazing. Both characters have that little something that makes me feel attached to them, as if I can actually understand them on a deeper level which means only one thing: the author polished the characterization close to perfection. These characters felt real for me. 🙂

Moreover, I’m one to love flawed characters, broken ones. Their journey to find themselves and get better is what I love the most in books. Here in this book it’s exactly what I witnessed. Hayden is hard to understand at times because his head and heart aren’t at the same place for a long while and even though I understand where he’s coming from, at one point it started to be downright frustrating. That’s the only thing that prevents me from rating this novel higher.

Alex is quite amazing too. With all the pain she’s going through? I can only be in awe and think that the author really didn’t spare her at all! She’s both strong and vulnerable and easily relatable to. At least, that’s how I perceived her.

Hayden and Alex’s connection is interesting and while the attraction seems fast, them acting on it takes a very long time, just like it would be in real life. I mean, their relationship is built in such a way that I understood their hot and cold routine. And I liked it for the most part.

Also, there are quite a few swoon-worthy lines in this book and that only adds that little touch to make me sigh happily. Seriously, I was completely lost to Hayden and Alex.

The plot itself kept throwing twists and turns my way to the point of making it quite thrilling to discover what would happen next, all the while keeping me on my toes as to how and what would happen to the main characters. Some sub-plots could have been a little bit more developed or at least dealt with a little more because I think it leaves us without a true end. But I’m really being picky here.

The writing of this author is pretty flawless. The dialogue and narrative parts flowed perfectly, nothing seemed out of place and the rhythm of the novel was never broken. I can see real talent here.

I’m happy I discovered this book and I will keep an eye on this author.

What do you think of Hayden?

 

RATING:

4.5 to 20131028-173205.jpg

20131028-173229.jpg

Leave a Reply

