Review: Night After Night, by Lauren Blakely

19300203

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: Erotica.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Self-published.

Pages: 250.

Blurb:

Their world was sex, love, and lies.
He intoxicated her. Commanded. Consumed.
With a dirty mind and a mouth to match, Clay Nichols is everything Julia never knew she wanted and exactly what she cannot have. He walked into her life one night and unlocked pleasure in her that she never knew was possible. Possessing her body, captivating her every thought. Which makes him way too dangerous for Julia to risk her heart, given that she has a price tag on her head. She ran after one mind-blowing week with him, but now he’s back, and determined to make her his own.
No matter the cost.
She was a sexy drug to him. Fiery, unforgettable, and never enough, Julia is an enigma, and Clay isn’t willing to let her go without a fight. But she’s got dark secrets of her own that threaten to destroy any chance of happiness. She’s a wanted woman – the stakes are high, her every move is watched, and yet the lure between them can’t be denied. Can two people burned by love trust again when desire and passion are met by danger at every turn?

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book contains not only the novel Night After Night, but also the prequel novella. The novella is indeed important to truly understand both main characters. It features their encounter and first night together. The novel itself starts after that night when they see each other again.

So…What can I say about this first installment in this series written by Lauren Blakely? It’s hot — which isn’t surprising since it’s an erotica series — it’s also fast paced and on the short side. That’s not an issue though.

What I’m going to write now is maybe completely ludicrous so don’t yell at me just yet. It made me think of 50 Shades of Grey. Not the plot, characters or twists. Obviously that famous series is pretty unique, but more with the BDSM tendencies, the exchange of emails. It’s very far stretched of me to draw this comparison, but for some reason it popped in my head while reading the few emails exchanged between Clay and Julia.

The plot itself isn’t that mind-blowing if I’m being honest, but it works perfectly. I let myself be caught in the intensity going on between both set of characters because even though there are many sex scenes in this novel, the author didn’t neglect the characterization and even the sub-plots. That’s why I truly enjoyed reading this book because even as an erotica romance novel, there is a true story there, not just countless hot sex scenes thrown in to entertain us. There is more and I’m quite eager to read the next installment.

Clay is interesting though some of his reactions bothered me a little. Maybe too clichés and predictable, but overall he is a good lead character and great male interest. I like that for once it’s the male in the story that is more cautious, trying to protect himself rather than the other way around.

That being said, Julia isn’t that outgoing sometimes and I enjoyed how she is portrayed. I could feel her strength and independence. It’s not just an act and I like her. Really.

The ending is abrupt, but with the small cliffhanger, it makes me want to read the next installment without feeling mad at the author for ending the book like this. It’s a good point. 🙂

While this book isn’t my favorite in the genre and I can think of a few things that annoyed me a little bit, even though this book isn’t lacking clichés, I still enjoyed reading it.

If you’re looking for a great erotica romance series, I think you should give it a chance.

What do you think of Clay? Is he one of your book boyfriends? What do you think of the sequel?

 

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

