Review: Permanent Ink, by Laura Simcox

22718575

 

Part of a series? Yes, but can be read as a standalone.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Entangled: Edge.

Pages: 395.

Blurb:

Blair Whitaker has one goal: get the hell out of Celebration, NY. Her ticket out is helping the town take the grand prize in a parade contest, which will ensure she lands her dream job. It’s a win-win.

Standing in the way is Ben Lambert, a sexy, local tattoo artist whose smile makes her weak. To win the contest, she’ll have to sideline his plans for the tattoo festival the town council allowed on the same weekend. But trying to thwart Ben is more than she bargained for, and before she knows it, she’s starting to see Celebration–and Ben–as something more than a temporary distraction.

But Blair’s in too deep to change directions now. Celebration is behind the parade contest, the mayor revokes the tattoo festival permit, and Blair is on the cusp of getting everything she’d planned. But coming clean will turn Ben against her for good, and going forward means losing what she really wants and hurting the town she’s grown to love.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS.

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

I haven’t read the first installment of this series, but like many series now, it’s not an issue. Each installment can be read as a stand alone.

While I enjoy reading small town romance novels from time to time, here I think the small town of Celebration takes a little bit too much room to the point of pushing the romance itself to the background sometimes. At least, that’s how it felt for me and at one point, around 50% into it I almost decided to stop reading and get back to it later on. But I hate doing this so I kept going.

Don’t get me wrong, the atmosphere, the small town, the secondary characters and the main characters are all interesting and make this story all the more “believable“, but I lost track of the romance sometimes.

Also, some descriptions are too detailed, too long and not lively enough. I get it that the main character is an event planner, but sometimes it’s too much. Unfortunately, that turned me off a few times.

The male lead character is interesting and I like that while he’s a hot tattoo-tattooed artist, he’s not the jerk we often find in such books. He’s actually really nice and sweet. Too much? Maybe, probably. I mean, a few times I think it should have brought more dynamic if he showed more emotions, more anger or something.

Some transitions between chapters or events are a little lacking. Somehow, it didn’t help that no transition actually showed us the main characters feelings, emotions or even their inner battles. Some chapters just stopped right there and the next one picked up a few days later.

Emotion wise this story isn’t what it should have been, in my opinion. It’s more like a half chick-lit half contemporary romance novel which is a little unsettling, but not necessarily a bad thing. It’s probably not for me though.

But I enjoyed some of the drama unleashing. I think it could have been even more thrilling if some consequences were more played out, but still, after a little while I let this book get to me to a certain extent.

If you’re looking for something light with a small town vibe, you should probably try this one.

 

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

