Review: Relentless Liberation, by L.J. Fine

20985640

 

Part of a series? Not at this time.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult, “erotica”.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publishing

Pages: 155

Blurb:

Being stalked from town to town by an unstable ex-boyfriend means demure bookworm Mina Roper is used to keeping a low profile. But after a coworker brings her to an underground boxing competition, shy Mina falls deeply in lust with gorgeous fighter Tyler Serano. The problem? She’s convinced he’s hopelessly out of her league.

Tyler knows his matches are brutally violent, so why does this sweet, subdued beauty keep showing up to watch them week after week? Despite his overwhelming fear of commitment, Tyler’s innocent curiosity evolves into a hot, all-consuming attraction.

Just when it looks like happily ever after might be possible, Mina’s past catches up to her and she’s forced to make a tough choice. Follow her usual escape strategy—or risk it all for a new kind of life with Tyler.

Inside Scoop: Mina’s past includes a nonconsensual sexual encounter and brief violence, which could be triggering for some readers.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

The first thing I want to write is that I’m pleasantly surprised. Sometimes I read erotica romance novels that are all about sex and very little about the characterization which always turns me off, but with Relentless Liberation, it’s different.
Don’t get me wrong, it’s still an erotica romance book so there are a few sex scenes, pretty hot at that, but in the end almost not as much as you can currently find in some books called Contemporary Romance novels. But, the sex scenes don’t take too much place to the point of not featuring interesting characters.
Though, I do think the twist at the end of the book comes too suddenly and ends too fast, I enjoyed how the author added a few things here and there to make us like the main character which is a female. She doesn’t come across as a doormat even though it’s quite potent that her self-esteem is very low. Fortunately, the author didn’t push it too much, just enough to let us understand the character better.
The male character is a little bit of an alpha male, but he’s so sweet too! Almost too much to be honest. I never thought I’d write this, but it’s the truth. I do think it’d have been great to see a little bit more of his personality, maybe more flaws. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love him and didn’t enjoy his little banters with the main character.
The writing is flowing and even though there are quite a few descriptions in the middle of a dialogue, it’s written in such a way that it doesn’t break the rhythm. At least, that’s how it felt for me.
As I said, the ending is not my cup of tea, but well, I still enjoyed the most of this book.
This book isn’t that original, but it’s well-done and it’s the kind of story that almost always wins you over. I’m sold!
I’ll keep an eye on this author.
Is this book on your TBR? What do you think?
RATING:
4
Leave a Reply

