Review: The Summer of Jake, by Rachel Bailey

22718598

Part of a series? No.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Supposedly New Adult, but I think it’s more an Adult one.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Entangled Publishing.

Pages: 288.

Blurb:

A new adult title from Entangled’s Embrace imprint… Falling in love wasn’t part of the plan…

Life is just dandy for aspiring fashion designer Annalise Farley. She has a great job (or she will once her designs are discovered), parents who onlyslightly disapprove, a cat that thinks she’s a dog, and a best friend…even if she hasn’t seen her in a while. But then Jake Maxwell saunters back into her life. Jake, the love god. Jake, her best friend’s older brother. Jake, who broke her heart at sixteen without realizing it, then left to become a pro surfer. Now he’s back, having taken the surfing and business worlds by storm, and he’s ready for a new challenge—catching the eye of another girl. And he wants Annalise’s help. Helping Jake land his next girlfriend is too fraught with emotional danger for her liking, but then Jake offers to put her designs in his shops. Is that the sound of her life cracking at the seams? It’s hard to tell with Jake smiling at her likeshe’s the only thing that makes him happy…

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS.

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book surprised me a little. I was expecting the usual type of NA Contemporary Romance novels — which wouldn’t have been a bad thing — and instead I discovered a book that is more adult than New Adult and I enjoyed it.
If there is one thing that comes to my mind immediately it’s the voice of this story. Since it’s told from both Jake and Annalise’s POV, it’s obvious that the author needed to work very hard on the voice of her characters if she wanted us to actually believe in them. And she did a great job at it.
While I enjoyed Jake’s POV, I would have loved it if he would have showed more of himself. Somehow, I think we were kept in the dark sometimes.
With Annalise, it’s the opposite. There’s nothing left to guess and her voice is quite overwhelming at times. It took me a few chapters to get used to the onslaught of info and weird analogies that are quite fun to read.
The writing style of the author is pretty flawless from what I can tell. The dialogues are flowing well, the descriptions are dynamic and never boring. It’s a good surprise. And the great thing is that I could believe that both characters have known each other for a long time.
But the plot itself is a little repetitive and the characters are trapped in the same circle for too long for my taste. At one point I was a little bit bored, thinking that even though I understood where they were coming from, I still couldn’t see anything giving to make the plot move along. Fortunately, just before I truly got annoyed things moved and I could finally see an evolution.
The plot is nothing that new or surprising, but it’s always nice to read. I enjoyed the few bits of depth put here and there to give more dimension to the main characters.
I truly enjoyed this book even though the plot could have been a little more thrilling. Maybe. But honestly, I’m being picky.
I’ll be following this author in the future.
What do you think about Jake? Is this book on your TBR?
RATING:
4
Leave a Reply

