Review: Engaging the Enemy, by Susanne Bellamy

22569082

Part of a series? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Escape Publishing.

Pages: 162.

Blurb:

 

One building, two would-be owners and a family feud that spans several generations: all relationships have their problems.

Andrea de Villiers can’t lie to save herself. But when developer, Matt Mahoney, buys the building she and a friend have established as a safe house in the Melbourne CBD, she decides that protecting The Shelter is more important than her aching heart. She will confront Mr Mahoney, and she will emerge victorious. There are no other options.

But Matt has other plans for Andie, and she soon finds herself ensnared in a web of well-meaning lies and benevolent deceit. To protect the building and the families that depend on her, Andie agrees to play the part of Matt’s fiancée, and play it convincingly.

But lies soon bleed into truth, and what was once a deception starts to feel all too real. Can Andie accomplish her goals and protect The Shelter, without losing her heart to the charming Irish developer?

 

Add it to Goodreads

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.
I was so thrilled to read this book after reading the blurb, but unfortunately it’s not at all what I was expecting. That’s probably the reason why I’m so disappointed.
I don’t know you, but when I read the blurb of this book I was sure that it’d be a blend of fun, hot, light and angst. In the end, it’s not deep in places it should have been, not even funny when some scenes or situations were calling for it and the heat level is barely close to warm when I’m concerned.
Also, and that’s something I find more and more these days, the dialogue doesn’t flow well. Sometimes it felt forced, with a repetition of names, some dialogue tags not really setting the scene and some sentences turned in such a way that a couple of times I had to read them twice — but maybe that’s because I received an ARC which isn’t the finished product.
The plot itself moves along in a strange rhythm, sometimes to the point I was wondering what the real misunderstanding was. And there are so many things left unsaid! I mean, the resolution around Andie and Matt’s family is so simple… I don’t know, it makes me feel like it could have been made into a short novella to have a tighter plot and then I wouldn’t be complaining about the little characterization and so forth.
The characters aren’t that fascinating. I can’t say I don’t like them, but I don’t care much either. Even the secondary characters don’t interest me.
I truly thought I’d love this book. I mean, the first chapter was kind of intriguing and even though it’s pretty cliché, it also works. But I think the author didn’t dig enough both in the characters’ past and emotions and in the plot twists.
Though, if you’re in the mood for something that will not call out to your emotions, something pretty straight forward, then maybe this book is for you. After all, I can understand if other readers truly enjoy this book. I guess this one is just not for me at the time.
RATING:
1.5 to 20140103-095135.jpg
Leave a Reply

