Review: Wounded Courage, by S.M. Butler

20762386

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance with a touch of thriller.

Publisher: Soaring Phoenix Press

Pages: 250

Blurb:

**A SERIES OF NEW ADULT MILITARY ROMANCES FROM S.M. BUTLER**

Navy SEAL Eamon Murphy regrets never kissing his best friend’s sister at graduation. Addison kept him twisted in knots growing up, with her vivacious smile and her gorgeous curves. He thought he was over her. But finding her at the wrong end of his gun three years later is only the beginning, and Murphy just might have to break all his rules to keep her safe.

Addison Hardy enrolled in her university’s exchange program to prove she wasn’t just the family black sheep. How was she to know her exotic French boyfriend would be the son of an international arms dealer? Or that his murder would land her in the custody of one brooding SEAL with a chip on his shoulder?

Their chemistry is flammable–and potentially explosive–but there are complications, silly little things like Addison being arrested, Murphy’s unwavering devotion to duty, and all her dead boyfriend’s enemies out to kill her. But the final conflagration might not be at all what they’re expecting.

This New Adult title includes adult situations and language and may not be suitable for readers under 18 years.

Reading order of this series:
1) Killing Honor, #1
2) Wounded Courage, #2
3) Dying Commitment, #3

 

Add it to Goodreads.

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review. 
Wounded Courage is the second book in the series, but it can be read as a standalone considering that the main characters in this book are different from the first one.
What caught my attention when I saw this book on Netgalley is the fact that it’s supposed to be a NA Contemporary Romance novel, but with a lot of action and mysteries like a thriller. While there are a lot of action and “mysteries“ in this book, I can’t see why this book is a NA novel.
While the plot itself could have been interesting, I wasn’t fully won over. Is it because I haven’t read the first book in the series? Is it because the plot lacks surprising twists and other fake leads? I don’t know, but I do think that the plot isn’t tight enough to truly works as it should. I wasn’t out of breath while reading this book and I even sighed a few times.
Also, the connection between Murphy and Addison is pretty much boring. I couldn’t see it fully, couldn’t feel the fact that they’ve known each other for years, that they’ve always been attracted by each other. Seriously, I couldn’t see anything. Even the emotions didn’t seem true. I had a feeling that it was forced and I had a hard time enjoying their time together.
Some of the things in Addison’s behavior really bothered me. Some things are very repetitive, the tension with her family told several times, but actually never showed and it’s pretty much overlooked. I couldn’t understand her or her emotions.
Murphy is interesting, but in a way I had a hard time connecting with him. I don’t know if it’s because his characterization isn’t deep and thorough enough, but in the end he’s not a character I’ll remember.
The whole story isn’t that interesting when there’s everything to make it brilliant and thrilling. In the end, I’m left with a “meh“ feeling that doesn’t sit well with me.
Some dialogues were not that well introduced and many internal musings broke the rhythm of the story and dialogue. That didn’t help either.
I don’t know if I’ll read another book in this series, but maybe I’m too harsh because I’m more used to that type of story being more tight with several fake leads, many insane twists with some very bad consequences.
What do you think of this book? And Murphy?
RATING:
2.5 to 3 for the effort.
Leave a Reply

