Review: Denying the Bad Boy, by Jenika Snow

18705784

 

Part of a series? Yes, but can be read as a standalone.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Evernight Publishing

Pages: 159

Blurb:

Alex Sheppard likes certain things: sex, parties, and the occasional fight to let off steam. But his wild ways catch up with him when he is put on football probation due to his lacking grade point average. When Mary Trellis offers to tutor him in exchange for a date to her sister’s wedding, Alex sees it as an easy ride. She’s smart, hot, and all she wants in return is one weekend of his company. Of course, nothing is as easy as it seems.

When Mary propositioned the tattooed and pierced bad boy, Alex, she didn’t realize what she was getting herself into. He has a habit of being vulgar and obscene, but she still wants him. It isn’t until they are alone that Mary realizes refusing Alex what he wants—her—is easier said than done.

 

Add it to Goodreads

 

REVIEW:

I decided to read this book because I have already read the first one. But in this series, the books can be read as stand-alones. The characters are different in each books.

It’s a fast read as it’s not a long book, but I’m a little disappointed to be honest. I think the relationship between Alex and Mary is not fully developed. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not bad and the chemistry is there, but I think I miss some characterization.

I would have loved to actually see things unraveling between Alex and Mary and more often than I’d like, it wasn’t showed. Maybe it’s because I’m always a sucker for details when it comes to how a relationship is evolving in a book, but the thing is that I’m left wondering which means that I wasn’t fully into the story.

I know that this book is supposed to be more on the erotic spectrum than the romance, but I’m disappointed that it’s at the cost of having a full, complete characterization. At least, that’s how I feel.

Though, I do like how Mary and Alex are around each other, mainly in the beginning. It’s not original, but it is well-done and well-described. I really liked the first part.

I’m saddened that the ending is not more developed and is over so fast. I think the resolution is too fast and more told than showed. It’s an issue I have with a lot of books and it’s leaving me with a bad after-taste every time. A dozen of more pages would have been welcomed.

Who has read this book? What do you think of Alex? Don’t you think that Mary felt different half in the book?

 

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

