Review: Rules of Survival, by Jus Accardo

22057824

 

Part of a series? No.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Thriller with a touch of Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Entangled Publishing, Embrace.

Pages: 290.

Blurb: 

If you want to survive, you have to follow the rules…

Mikayla Morgan is wanted for her mother’s murder. She’s been on the run for almost a year now, avoiding not only the police but the real killer. Tired of running and desperate to clear her name, she breaks one of the most sacred rules: never return to the scene of the crime.

Every bounty hunter on the Eastern Seaboard is after the Morgan girl—but Shaun Denver and his partner snagged her. She’s a piece of work, and Shaun can’t decide if he wants to kiss her or kill her. When things take a sharp turn south, Shaun does the only thing he can think of to keep her close—he handcuffs them together.

As the danger mounts and the killer closes in, the chemistry between them threatens to explode. Shaun and Kayla will need to break all the rules if they hope to get out of this alive.

 

Add it to Goodreads.

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This novel is a standalone and is very different from the usual New Adult Contemporary novels you can find out there. There aren’t many with a thriller vibe and Jus Accardo pulls it off pretty well.

The action is always very present which means that I didn’t have the time to get bored. I always felt the danger lurking around and it kept me going, even when I thought the characterization was lacking some.

There’s nothing to say about the author’s writing style. After all, this book isn’t her first one and she knows how to keep us guessing, keep the tension and even add some scenes I’d qualify as sweet and hot.

The plot itself is well-built and while I often wondered if I would guess something right, I more than often didn’t. I’m pleasantly surprised and I’m not going to give your anymore than that because I’m too afraid of spoiling things for you. With this book, it’s like being trapped in one of those action movie or thrillers.

The characters are a little less thrilling than the plot unfortunately. I enjoyed Kayla because she’s strong and different from the kind of female lead character we find in books, but some things were a little repetitive and her attraction to Shaun is a little bit too fast and easy for my taste.

Shaun is a good supportive character, but I would have loved to feel more of his emotions and how his past played a role. I mean, we see some of it, but I felt like it’s kept away or that the easy way was taken.

The other characters are interesting though a little bit clichés. But still, it helped settling that action movie, thriller vibe.

The very end is lacking the emotional impact I was expecting and the tension I’d felt throughout the book. I’m a little bit disappointed and I hesitated between rating this book 3 or 4 stars because of that very thing.

What do you think of Shaun? Of the plot?

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

