Review: Play Me (A1pha, part 1), by Blue Ashcroft

22461776

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Self-published.

Blurb:

Living in a mansion with three hot dudes could be any girl’s dream…it’s just not Kira Wilson’s. Not when Alex Dumont is one of them.

Other girls know him as A1pha, a beautiful, arrogant pro gamer and newly minted billionaire. Kira knows him as an ex crush and a major pain in the butt. But he’s also an old friend and gaming buddy, and when she needs to hide from her abusive ex, she knows that Alex and his roommates Ethan and Ollie (her former gaming teammates) are the right friends to depend on.

Despite the rocky history between them, Kira knows Alex is right when he states that no one can protect her better than he can. Kira’s just not sure that physical safety is worth the danger the grudge-holding, haunted, and utterly delicious pro gamer poses to her heart.

But with her ex hot on her trail, and Alex looking at her in a way that’s hard to resist, she’d better figure it out soon.

Important note from the author!
A1pha Episode 1 is the first novella in a three part planned new adult romance series about Kira Wilson and her three hot, nerdy housemates. Each installment is a little over half the length of my typical novels, with an intense cliffhanger at the end. Hope you enjoy!

 

Add it to Goodreads

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is the first episode of a New Adult Contemporary Romance serial. While I’m usually not very into that new format of stories, I know I’ll be following this one.

My review is going to be pretty short since it’s not like there’s much happening in this first installment. We meet all characters, get an idea of the dynamic and tensions. Because there’s a lot of tension.

I like Kira’s characters even though I don’t fully buy the fact that she’s afraid of a ex-boyfriend. The author shows much more her history with her old friends instead of actually showing us that Kira is in fact trying to recover from something very difficult. Although, near the end it takes another turn and that’s when the book ends. At least, it’s pretty well-done because I’m not bitching at my kindle and yet I’m still quite eager to read the next installment.

There are many clichés in this book and at first it really made me roll my eyes, but then I slowly started to warm up to the characters even though so far the author took some easy shortcuts. I hope the next installment will be less predictable and the characters more multi-dimentional.

I like the few quirks the characters have because they help me “see’’ the differences between each ones. I’d love to see even more of their friendship, something more tangible to better empathize with them all. We’ll probably see more of that in the next installment.

The plot is tight enough, though there isn’t much happening action wise. I hope to better understand Alex and see more of Kira and him struggling because I enjoy the build up there. It’s quite well done and even partially understandable. Kira is a little more difficult to follow which bothers me a little bit considering what she went through, but that’s another debate.

The writing is flowing well, some dialogue tags don’t seem necessary, but fortunately they don’t slow down the reading all that much. The descriptions aren’t taking too much space and don’t smother the dialogues.

Overall, it’s a nice beginning for a new series, a new serial, and I’ll keep an eye out for the next one.

 

RATING:

3 to 3.5

One thought on “Review: Play Me (A1pha, part 1), by Blue Ashcroft

Leave a Reply

