Review: The Fault In Our Stars, by John Green

11870085

 

Part of a series? No.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Young Adult, but the theme is mature.

Genre: Contemporary Drama.

Publisher: Dutton Books

Pages: 318

Blurb:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

 

Add it to Goodreads.

 

REVIEW:

I decided that it was time to read this book after hearing so many things about it for so long. Since I had plans to go and see the movie adaptation, I finally bought the book to read it before.

It’s been a while that a book nearly brought me to tears. I had to take breaks at some key scenes to bring my breathing back to normal. It’s that powerful.

At first, I wasn’t sure I’d love it so much because the writing is very unique, but it’s so fitting to the characters! The humor is wonderful, the plot is amazing, the characters are strong, flawed, down to earth and yet they have that youth that only brings more life to this story.

This story broke my heart and I know it’s one I will remember for a long time. A very long time.

Everything felt true, resonating inside of me to better grab me and push me into Hazel and Gus’ story and all the characters seconding them. It’s sweet, strong and also hopeful. I know, it’s quite weird since this story is so sad, since there’s no miracle, but somehow these characters are showing something to me, something that makes me think of hope. As crazy as it sounds.

I was never bored throughout the book. In every chapters there are many key scenes, something that would give even more dimension to the characters and that grabbed me, making my heart beats some more either painfully or sweetly.

It was easy to relate to Hazel, or at least it was to me, and it made it all the more moving. I couldn’t put any distance and I experienced that story full force.

It’s one of a kind book.

 

RATING:

4 to 4.5

Leave a Reply

