Review: Beautiful Oblivion, by Jamie McGuire

18104607

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Atria Books.

Pages: 336

Blurb:

The Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster phenomenon continues in the first heart-pounding new adult romance in The Maddox Brothers series.

Fiercely independent Camille “Cami” Camlin gladly moved on from her childhood before it was over. She has held down a job since before she could drive, and moved into her own apartment after her freshman year of college. Now tending bar at The Red Door, Cami doesn’t have time for much else besides work and classes, until a trip to see her boyfriend is cancelled, leaving her with a first weekend off in almost a year.

Trenton Maddox was the king of Eastern State University, dating co-eds before he even graduated high school. His friends wanted to be him, and women wanted to tame him, but after a tragic accident turned his world upside down, Trenton leaves campus to come to grips with the crushing guilt.

Eighteen months later, Trenton is living at home with his widower father, and works full-time at a local tattoo parlor to help with the bills. Just when he thinks his life is returning to normal, he notices Cami sitting alone at a table at The Red.

As the baby sister of four rowdy brothers, Cami believes she’ll have no problem keeping her new friendship with Trenton Maddox strictly platonic. But when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever—even if she is the only reason their already broken family could fall apart.

In the first installment of the Maddox Brothers books, readers can experience the rush of reading Beautiful Disaster for the first time, all over again.

 

Add it to Goodreads.

 

REVIEW:

 

We’ve briefly met Trent Maddox in Beautiful Disaster and now we’ve got his own story.

I really enjoy reading Jamie McGuire’s books and her contemporary romance novels are quite unavoidable if you’re into NA Contemporary romance books. I’ve been dying to read Beautiful Oblivion and while I had a really good time reading it, I’m not madly in love with it.

I’ll try not to write spoilers, but it’s best to have read Beautiful Disaster before reading this one or even before reading my review.

I was surprised when I discovered that Beautiful Oblivion was taking place at the same time as Beautiful Disaster. I really thought it’d be at another time, maybe shortly after the events in Beautiful Disaster or maybe just before the end, but no. While it doesn’t bother me, I was taken aback.

Then, Cami isn’t a character I truly felt about. A few times I was very close to feel something for her, sadness mostly, but unfortunately I think her family dynamic isn’t enough developed to put into perspective her attitude towards Trent and some of her choices.

Reagan isn’t a loveable secondary character, probably because we’re not seeing enough of her to truly understand her choices and behavior. To be honest, I was mostly annoyed whenever I saw her.

Though, the other secondary characters are very interesting and I’d love to read their stories!

Trent is one of my new book boyfriends. 😉
Not only he is very sweet and kind, but he’s got that protectiveness about him that can not let us unaffected. It’s really easy to like/love him and for that I’m happy that he’s got his own story.

But, Trent will not win me over as much as Travis did. Travis will always be my favorite and I’m going to try and explain to you why. Don’t shout at me if you don’t agree. We’re all expecting different things from books.

I miss several scenes in this book, scenes that could have better portrayed both Cami and Trent. Also, there are a few things contradicting each others to the point of letting me unsure of what to think now that I’m finished with this book. I don’t want to write any spoiler so if you want to know more, ask me in a comment.
Then, some scenes should or could have been more emotional, deeper even. I didn’t swoon all that much while reading this book, not because I was expecting some grand gesture, but because I was kept emotionally away from the narration. I think it’s because some things are left unsaid, some weeks not showed. If we’ve been showed those weeks then we’d have better seen the build ups and the set backs.

That being said, I had a great time reading this book in less than 2 days. I can’t wait for the next brother’s story and I hope we’ll see more of some secondary characters.

What do you think of Trent? Who is your favorite: Travis or Trent?

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

