Review: Perfect Kind of Trouble, by Chelsea Fine

18656446

 

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 336

Part of a series? Yes, but can be read as a standalone

Cliffhanger? No.

Blurb:

Sometimes when perfect falls apart, a little trouble fixes everything . . .

Twenty-one-year-old Kayla Turner has lost everything. After spending most of her life taking care of her ailing mother, she just wants to spot a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. So when her late father-a man she barely knew-leaves her an inheritance, she finally breathes a sigh of relief . . . until she learns the inheritance comes with strings. Strings in the form of handsome playboy Daren Ackwood, her father’s protégé. To see any of her inheritance, she’s forced to team up with him. From his expensive car to those sexy dimples, Kayla’s seen his type before. But Daren isn’t who he seems to be . . .

Struggling to make amends for his family’s mistakes, Daren has a life more Oliver Twist than Richie Rich these days. He’s beyond grateful that James Turner included him in his will, but working with Turner’s princess of a daughter to fulfill his cryptic last wish is making Daren wonder if being broke is really so bad. Still, she’s just as beautiful as she is stubborn, and the more time he spends with Kayla, the less it feels right being without her. Soon Daren and Kayla begin to wonder if maybe the best gift Kayla’s dad could have left them . . . was each other.

 

Add it to Goodreads

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

I’ve heard about this series before, but never gave it shot. You know how it is, you have so many books on your TBR that sometimes some books just slip by you.

While I didn’t read the first installment from this series, I didn’t find it annoying. Each book features a different set of characters which makes it very easy to pick just one of them if we feel like it.

I enjoyed reading this book, maybe not as much as I thought I would, but still. The writing is flawless, easy and even if I think some dialogues sounded slightly fake, I can honestly say that the author has a real touch with her craft.

The characters’ development is slightly lacking. Maybe it’s a matter of personal taste, but I think that the author could have went even deeper into the main characters psyche. After all, with the family’s betrayal they both went through, it would seem logical if it impacted even more them.

I’m not stating that their past isn’t getting in their way, but somehow I find it too fast and easily overcome. I like the “sweet“ message of the book that fits perfectly with the tone of the book, but somehow the angst falls flat for me.

I really like the small town atmosphere in this book. I’ve read books with a small town romance, but I couldn’t always feel the small town atmosphere. In this book, I could feel it even though it’s not overdone and not cliché.

The few twists weren’t that surprising and the stakes weren’t that high – or maybe the consequences were too overlooked – but I wasn’t bored while reading. I enjoyed the way the characters were slowly, yet fast, turning around.

The ending is quite fast and some things could have been more developed to better add some tension and a real fear/empathy for the characters.

In the end, I enjoyed this book but I think I was expecting something that’d make me more emotional. I couldn’t fully connect with the characters and yet I enjoyed their story, their journey.

I’ll keep Chelsea Fine on my list of authors to keep an eye on. 🙂

Who read this book? Or the first one in the series? What do you think of Daren?

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

