Review: Breakable, by Tammara Webber

17936925

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Publisher: Penguin Berkley.

Pages: 368.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Blurb:

He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.

 

As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.

 

All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…

 

As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17936925-breakable?ac=1

 

REVIEW:

I remember when I first read Easy, the first installment that can be read as a standalone. It was when it was self-published and I read it on its first day of release. Shortly after, I had to buy the paperback because it was that good. You can only imagine how excited I was to read Lucas’s POV and discover more about him and his past.

It was a great read, but I’m a little disappointed. Easy will stay my favorite!

Breakable isn’t just Easy told from Lucas’s POV because we have an access to his past from that awful moment that changed him and his life forever to the scenes happening in Easy. So, basically, you won’t be bored by some retelling of what happened.

Though, this book is too much of an internal musing than real “live’’ scenes. Aside from the scenes from his past, everything seems to be happening with his internal thoughts on display and very little to no dialogues. It’s told, not showed. Or, it makes me feel that way. Sometimes I even thought I should take up another book for a couple of days and come back to Breakable to really keep enjoying it and not be bored. But I kept going on because it’s Lucas after all! And I was moved by his story, by his evolution. I loved the scenes from his past when he was a teenager. Everything felt quite raw and rough, exactly in adequation to his feelings. I understood him and I think it’s important even if it’s a fiction.

I liked to know exactly how he sees Jacqueline. It’s really powerful and yet you can feel his vulnerability, his fears. It was great and a more mature NA book than most you can find out there. It’s really refreshing and yet very intense.

I was glad to discover more secondary characters to the point of needing to read their own stories. I’m quite intrigued by Eve, or Boyce too.

Tammara Webber has the talent to be a story-teller even though this one isn’t as much my cup of tea as I was expecting it to be. Maybe I was expecting too much, as it’s usually what happens with me when I’m anticipating so much a book.

In my opinion, you will enjoy this book only if you’ve read Easy and if you’re a fan. Otherwise, you might be lost and you’ll be bored by the way the story is told and not exactly “showed’’.

Who read Breakable already? What do you think about it? And about Easy? Which character you’d like to read their story next?

 

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

