Review: Imaginary Lines, by Allison Parr

20645592

 

Part of a series? Yes, but can be read as a standalone.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Carina Press.

Pages: 237.

Blurb: 

Tamar Rosenfeld has been in love with New York Leopards linebacker Abraham Krasner since they were twelve years old. She’d always considered it destiny that they’d end up together…until Abe was drafted and she professed her feelings in a moment of blind excitement. The sting of his rejection was like nothing she’d ever felt before, and it’s nothing she’ll ever forget.

Older and wiser, Tamar has landed a dream job as a reporter for one of New York’s premier athletic websites. Determined to stop being the safe, boring girl she’s felt like for most of her life, Tamar makes a list of all the things she wants to do and see in her new city, and Getting Over Abraham is priority number one.

But destiny has finally chosen to interfere. Just as Tamar’s decided to move on, Abe’s realized she’s the only woman for him. When he confides the truth, Tamar has to decide if she can put her crush behind her, or take a chance on the very man who’s been holding her back all these years.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20645592-imaginary-lines

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book was a sweet read, not exactly what I thought it’d be, but sweet nonetheless.

I really like stories with characters that are friends and then become more. Here, I thought the friendship would have been even more exploited to better enhance the change in their relationship and how difficult it could be.

The author did show how difficult their relationship was because of their work, and it’s great, but I find the resolution too fast. I’m a sucker for angst and drama and many pages throughout the book made me think more of filling scenes, transitions instead of actual steps toward the right direction, steps that would be useful to the plot.

I don’t like it when authors tell us what happened for a few days in the timeline without actually showing us the impact on the characters. The timeline was a little difficult for me at times.

Also, the relationship was very sweet, but to be honest sometimes I couldn’t buy it to the fullest. Too easy is the thing that comes to mind right now. Abe was almost too perfect. Who would have thought I’d say such a thing? But of course it’s a mater of personal taste because I tend to fall hard for characters with flaws.

Tamar is a likable female character who is strong enough to go for what she truly believes. I could also feel the wounds Abe left years prior and it helped me to go into the story and want to know what would happen next. Though, things progressed almost too fast for my liking, but I’m pretty sure not many readers will feel the same.

The few appearances of the families were welcomed and sweet and I would have loved to see even more of Abe’s mother and Tamar’s mother. I’m sure it’d have been priceless.

The few twists in the story were really interesting and I would have loved to spend more time on their consequences. I enjoyed the atmosphere at Tamar’s work and to be honest I’d love to read more about her boss. 🙂

The writing style is pleasant, simple and flows pretty well. I think I will read more books in this series.

What do you think about this book? Do you like Abe? 

 

RATING:

3 to 3.5

Leave a Reply

