Review: Addicted to Him, by Lauren Dodd

18232282

 

Part of a series? No.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary “Romance”

Warning: Not intended for readers under 18.

Pages: 202

Self-Published.

Blurb:

I never knew you could get addicted to people….until I met Seth.

I just wanted to escape. I had a huge secret and I was trying to run away from it as fast as I could. I managed to get myself shipped a thousand miles away for the summer to my estranged father and perky new stepmother’s house. Nobody knew me there and that’s the way I liked it. I didn’t have to be the screwed-up girl with the terrible secret anymore; I could be anybody I wanted to be.

Being sequestered at Dad’s house turned out to be amazing. I started wondering if somehow I could convince him to keep me forever and then I might have a shot at a normal life for a change. Enter hot, mysterious, moody Seth and my desire to become a permanent resident of Colorado just quadrupled.

I had never met anyone like Seth. I trusted him more than I had ever trusted anyone. I craved his lips, his body, and his touch. It didn’t take long for me to become totally addicted to him. The way he could get my body to respond was incredible. Before long I was spilling every dark secret I had to him never dreaming that he would someday use that knowledge against me.

I should have known my fairy tale wouldn’t last forever. Secrets that I prayed would never see the light of day were soon exposed, changing my life forever. I couldn’t run anymore. I had to decide if I wanted to stay the same girl who never fights for herself, or try to find the strength inside myself to live the life I knew I had always deserved.

This is a complete novel at 75,000 words. Content warning- This novel contains adult situations and may not be appropriate for readers under eighteen.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18232282-addicted-to-him?ac=1

 

REVIEW:

I must say that I suspected this book to be about tough issues, but I didn’t think it’d tackle so many at once.

The first thing that I should point out it that I really like how the author used these awful issues in her story and it truly got to me, but I think she used too many at once to the point that it left me feeling like things should have been more treated, as if some stuffs find a too fast resolution when it should have taken longer to better feel for Cassidy.

Don’t get me wrong, I truly love Cassidy’s character and her strength is undeniable, but I couldn’t feel completely everything because of all the things happening in the second half of the book. The first half was quite slow even if it really helps me to figure out the dynamic of Cassidy’s life, but then the second half was so intense that it’s almost as if I had to take a step back to read the book or else it would have been overwhelming and not in a good way.

So yes, the whole thing with Cassidy’s family or even with Seth is, in my opinion, not explored at its fullest and it’s really sad because it could have been a master piece in the genre.

Also, what I like is that it’s not a common love story. It’s more than that, which explains why I’m also so demanding. There’s something to be said about stories that tackle such subjects. You always expect a lot. When it’s just a simple love story or comedy romance, you don’t have the same expectations because you’re not waiting to have your emotions all over the place to the point that you can’t think about anything else but the characters and the plot. Here, it didn’t happen to me.

But the writing style flows well as it is not a surprise when it comes to this author. The dialogues are quite well built and blend well with the descriptive parts. Maybe, sometimes, I’d have loved it if the writing would have been more harsh, scorching in the difficult parts, but I’m being picky. It’s really a matter of personal taste, so don’t mind me.

All in all, it’s a good book with interesting characters and with a great message conveyed by a strong main character. I just expected more than I’m left feeling now that I closed my kindle app.

Who read this book? What do you think about Cassidy? And Cassidy and Seth’s relationship? Or her mother and step-dad? There’s a lot to say!

 

RATING:

3

 

Leave a Reply

