Review: Fix You, Bash and Olivia Book 1, by Christine Bell

21404548

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Self-Published.

Pages: 74

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Blurb: 

Olivia Beckett’s once-charmed life is falling apart. Her family is about to lose everything, and she has almost no chance of continuing her college education. She can’t even seek solace from her high school sweetheart. He’s changed. She doesn’t recognize the boy she used to know— his violent behavior is escalating and it scares the hell out of her. Her whole world is crumbling, and she has no one to turn to……

Sebastian “Bash” McDaniels is an up and comer in the boxing world working nights at the local college bar until he can land the fight of his dreams that will get him the hell out of Boston and away from his family’s tragic past. He’s weeks from his goal when Olivia Beckett comes tumbling into his life in a flash of silky dark hair and haunted eyes. When he saves her from a potentially brutal beating, they begin to grow close, but Olivia’s ex isn’t ready to let her go so easily.

Bash can’t bring himself to walk away, but fixing Olivia just might leave him broken…

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21404548-fix-you-bash-and-olivia-book-one?ac=1

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

The first thing that comes to mind now that I’m finished with this first installment is that. I hate cliffhangers!

When I requested this book on Netgalley I didn’t realize that it would be such a short read and that it’d end in a cliffhanger. At least, I’m not that mad after reading that book, I’m just frustrated and I need the next one asap. I guess it’s the main purpose of cliffhangers. 🙂

This book told in dual POV is great. I enjoyed the chemistry between Bash and Olivia and even though I’d have preferred some more build up between them, more angst of some sort before they actually fell in each others’ arms, I still enjoyed they connection.

I’d have enjoyed more background info, something to really show us what they’re made of, but it’s just me being picky because I could still feel their fears and hang-ups.

The story flows well, easily even and the pace is fast which explains why I was never bored while reading this book. It’s really important when a book isn’t long.

The writing style is simple yet very interesting. The descriptions aren’t overdone and they don’t break the rhythm of the dialogues. Overall, it’s really well-built.

In the genre, it’s really a great first installment. Though, I do think that it could have been longer instead of stopping there and needing the second installment. I know serials are now a trend, but I still can’t enjoy and see the interest since you end up paying even more for a story that could have fit in a book or two. But that’s another debate.

Now, I truly hope that the author isn’t going to play the love-card too fast because I can buy that crazy attraction they feel for each other, but nothing more at this stage. After all, once we’re finished with this first installment they’ve known each other for only a week!

Hopefully, we’ll see more of Bash’s hang-ups acting up because right now I miss that little something that’d put him in my top-list. But hey, I’m starting to get really picky. 😉

Who read Fix You Book 1? What do you think about Bash? I really like the name.

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

