Review: This Regret, by Victoria Ashley

18744608

 

Part of a series? No.

Cliffhanger? No.

Self-Published.

Warnings: Sex scenes.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Pages: 343

Blurb:

 

Phoenix has been stumbling through life since her brother Adric’s tragic death but after eight years, she is finally piecing what remains together. She has a nice apartment, a steady job and not to mention a fresh new ‘relationship’ with her childhood friend, Kade Haze. He’s the sexy boy next door she never even dreamed of falling for, but can’t seem to stop the pull she feels toward him.

Just when life began to make sense again and a feeling of normalcy was on the horizon, Phoenix’s carefully constructed walls come crashing down.

When walking into the tattoo shop one day, the last thing she’s expecting to see is Kellan Haze, Adric’s best friend no one has seen or heard from since the day they found her brother’s body. He’s nothing as she remembers him as a child, with his wild messy hair, tattoos that cover most of his undeniably sexy body and eyes so intense it makes her legs quiver with one look. The one thing even she can’t deny is the instant rush she feels just by being in his presence.

But how can you choose between love and lust when one of these hold a dark secret, one that can crush your world to pieces and leave you gasping for air. Who can you trust when your mind is pulling you in two different directions and your heart has to choose for you?

The Haze brothers are sexy, daring and possibly . . . dangerous.

This Regret is a story of love, lust, betrayal and danger with an ending that no one saw coming

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20928628-this-regret

 

REVIEW:

While looking for more books to add on my to-read list – as if I don’t already have a never ending list – I saw several people talking about This Regret. These reviews were so raving that I had to buy it. Fortunately, it was even on sale at the time!

I’m not disappointed at all by this book. There is everything you want in a book. There are an alpha male, drama, mysteries, a strong female character, an interesting and riveting plot and a writing style going along really well with the genre. And don’t get me started on the sexy scenes!

More seriously, this book surprised me in a good way. I didn’t think I’d enjoy reading it so much, but in the end I couldn’t put it down even though some chapters are a little dull and boring for me. But the intense ones counter-balanced ten times these chapters, so it’s not a real issue.

The main characters are interesting and even the secondary ones bring something. They interest me enough to want to read their story. That’s when I know that an author truly polished well her whole story, and here, the author adorned Phoenix and Kellan’s world really well to make us want to go back to it.

In turn, I feared and smiled along Phoenix’s and Kellan’s journey. I was truly enraptured in their story and it’s an amazing feeling.

Maybe I would have loved to know more about what is going on in Kellan’s head as his POVs are scarce. I can think of a couple of chapters where his input would have been an amazing addition, but I’m being picky.

Overall, it’s one of the few books I know I’ll remember. Pheonix’s and Kellan’s are amazing together and their story is going to stick with me for a little while.

I can’t wait to read more from this author.

Who read this book? What do you think about Kellan? It looks like this name is perfect when it comes to male character in romance books!

 

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

