Review: Dominic, by L.A. Casey

21473305

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Self-Published.

Pages: 337

Category: Supposedly New Adult, but I’d say it’s between NA and Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Blurb: 

After a car accident killed her parents when she was a child, Bronagh Murphy chose to box herself off from people in an effort to keep herself from future hurt. If she doesn’t befriend people, talk to them or acknowledge them in any way they leave her alone just like she wants.

When Dominic Slater enters her life, ignoring him is all she has to do to get his attention. Dominic is used to attention, and when he and his brothers move to Dublin, Ireland for family business, he gets nothing but attention. Attention from everyone except the beautiful brunette with a sharp tongue.

Dominic wants Bronagh and the only way he can get to her, is by dragging her from the boxed off corner she has herself trapped in the only way he knows how…by force.

Dominic wants her, and what Dominic wants, Dominic gets.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21473305-dominic?ac=1

 

REVIEW:

 

I’m not going to lie. I first had a look at the book’s blurb because of the cover. Shame on me! But at least, I discovered a new author and a new series!

I really enjoyed reading this book and yet I really shouldn’t. Why? Well, probably because the consequences of violence, as mild as the violence might be, are overlooked. But the chemistry between Dominic and Brognagh, the dialogues and the secondary characters made it impossible for me to put this book down and not enjoy reading every chapters.

To be honest, I fell in love with Dominic even if he is a prick as Brognagh would say. He is a prick and yet I love the hell out of him! That must say something about my sanity, right? 😉

I needed a good laugh reading a book and the dialogues – mostly in the first part of the book – made it possible. The dialogues are more than just funny banters, and even if you could say they are silly at times, I still loved reading them.

So yeah, I can’t explain why I loved this book because maybe I shouldn’t, but I did. The pace is wicked good, the characters amazing, the plot interesting, the chemistry undeniable and the writing style good. What should I ask more?

I can’t wait to read the next installment and see the next Slater brother fall in love. I truly hope the female lead character will give him hell like Brognah did with Dominic.

Who read this book? What do you think about Dominic? Is he your book boyfriend?

 

RATING:

4

2 thoughts on “Review: Dominic, by L.A. Casey

  1. MM Jaye says:

    I saw your review published just under mine on Amazon and it reads just like mine 🙂 Liked it, but maybe I shouldn’t have… In spite of everyone flipping out and bashing each other all the time, I ended up enjoying this book so much! Maybe it’s its Irish authenticity. I mean, what eighteen-year-old will make a girl cry talking about vows and babies, a mere week after they’ve been officially together, if the setting is not in Catholic Ireland?! I enjoy your reviews and will keep an eye on them.

    Greetings from Greece!

    Maria (MM Jaye)

    • HotStuff.BookReviews says:

      Hi Maria,
      Thank you for stopping by and for leaving a comment. I think that if we wouldn’t have been feeling that way about Dominic we should be worried. lol
      I really enjoyed reading Dominic, but I’m still thinking that I shouldn’t have. It’s kind of a weird feeling actually. But hey, if we had fun reading it, it’s all good. 🙂
      I hope to see you back soon!

Leave a Reply

