Review: See Through Me, by Sera Bright

20878454

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Self-Published.

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Warnings: Sex scenes.

Pages: 222

Blurb: 

There’s only one person I want to see when I return home. But I know he won’t be waiting. It’s the reason I feel safe enough to come back.

I’m so wrong.

Ash Townsend isn’t the same quiet boy from next door. He’s tall, dark and demanding answers. He wants me, but he doesn’t trust me. Why should he? When his own family tried to break him down, he still sheltered me in this town full of liars. And I repaid it by leaving him without a word.

But I’ll do anything to protect him. I have the scars on my wrist to prove it.

* * *

This is NOT a standalone novel. Many of the questions that are raised will NOT be answered. This is Katie’s story.

Contains strong language, descriptive sexual situations, and mature themes of child abuse and neglect. This novel is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

Will be available May 8th 2014.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20878454-see-through-me?ac=1

 

Review:

I received this book through Netgalley for an honest review.

Do you know that I’m what you can call a cover whore on top of a bookwhore? Yep, I must confess. So, when I saw that cover I had to read the blurb. While the blurb isn’t very detailed, it caught my attention.

This book isn’t a stand-alone and I’m disappointed. I knew it when I started it, but now that I’m finished with it, I don’t understand why the author didn’t wrap up the lose ends in this book instead of making some scenes repetitive to better stretch things out.

I would have preferred a story with a tighter plot.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a pleasant read, but not the gut wrenching kind I was expecting. It’s bittersweet most of the time and at some point I was almost bored with the way both main characters were handling things.

I really enjoy it when characters actually fight against their feelings, fight against what they truly want, but here I couldn’t relate much. Somehow, I didn’t click with the characters and in turn I didn’t fully ‘’experienced’’ their chemistry.

But, because I have to place a but somewhere, there are a few sub-plots, a few twists that caught my attention enough to actually make me want to read the next installment. Though, I don’t really follow all the logic as everything was kind of revealed at once and I couldn’t process everything and actually feel the angst I should have felt then.

All in all, it’s more of an introduction to the main characters’ feelings than anything else. At least, that’s how I feel now that I’m finished with it.

I have high hopes for the next installment and I look forward to reading it.

What do you think about Ash? What do you think about See Through Me? Will you read the next installment?

 

Rating:

3

Leave a Reply

