Review: Phenomenal X, by Michelle A. Valentine

Image

 

Part of a series? Yes

Cliffhanger? Yes

Self-Published

Pages:  336

Genre: Contemporary Romance 

Category: Adult

Warnings: Best for mature readers. 

 

Blurb:

Good Girl. Notorious Bad-Boy. One Phenomenal Love.

From the mean streets of Detroit rises the newest superstar of professional wrestling, Xavier Cold, better known as Phenomenal X. His muscular physique makes men cower before him and woman lose their minds with desire.

Anna Cortez is fresh out of college and naive to the harsh realities of the real world. Tired of living under the thumb of her conservative family, she defies them when she accepts a job as the assistant to wrestling’s most notorious bad-boy. Phenomenal X has an animalistic nature that even good girl Anna finds hard to resist.

One night forced to share a bed in a sold-out hotel, lines blur between them and they quickly learn that one lustful night changes everything and neither one of them will ever be the same.

 

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21972350-phenomenal-x

 

Review:

Since the very beginning I’ve been following closely Michelle A. Valentine’s books. I know, it sounds really stalkerish, but I don’t mind. 😉
Of course, when I first saw this one, I was eager to read it.

Phenomenal X is a great first installment of what could be a great series if the sequel doesn’t disappoint. The story is fast paced, the writing style does’t disappoint and the characters have just enough flaws and hang-ups to make the story more interesting and epic.

So yeah, I enjoyed reading this book. I devoured it in two days, which isn’t that complicated because the book isn’t that long. Speaking of the length… I think that the plot would have deserved to be more detailed, some aspects with Anna’s father could have been better explored than it is in this first installment. That way, it would have given more depth to the character and in turn I think I’d have felt more interested, more invested.

Also, there is one tiny thing that bothered me. In my opinion, considering the time frame of the story, the romance comes too fast too easily. Xavier and Anna fall for each other too damn fast for my liking, which is always a pet peeve of mine. Though, don’t get me wrong, it’s well-brought and the chemistry between the two characters is so thick that you tend to forget everything else.

I truly enjoyed discovering the little bits of Xavier’s past and I love how the author put these glimpses from his past to blend so perfectly with the narration. I hope we’ll discover even more in the next book.

But be warned! There is a cliffhanger. I really hate/love cliffhangers.

Even though I enjoyed reading this book, it’s not my favorite written by this author. That being said, or written in this case, I’ll 1-click the sequel as soon as it is available.

What do you think about Xavier? Is he your new book boyfriend?

 

Rating:

Image to 3.5

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Phenomenal X, by Michelle A. Valentine

  1. malesa hall says:

    This book is definitely a 5 star book. I loved the way Xavier was very protective. But I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with a cliffhanger like that. I can’t wait for the sequel!

    • HotStuff.BookReviews says:

      It really was a great read, but I was expecting more from Michelle A. Valentine. I guess I’m getting more and more picky! 🙂
      The cliffhanger is one I will remember for a while. Damn it! It’s going to be hard to wait for the next installment.
      Thank you for stopping by and for posting a review.

Leave a Reply

