Review: The Hidden, by Kelley R. Martin

18073246

 

Category: New Adult

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Warnings: There are a few scenes for readers over 18.

 

Blurb:

On her first day of college, Emily meets a walking, talking god. With a gorgeous face, killer blue eyes, and a body to die for, it’s easy to see why Thomas Paige is the envy of every guy at Potomac Ridge University and why every girl within a fifty mile radius wants to get a piece of him.

Sounds great, right? Well, it would be if Emily didn’t think he was such an ass.

Since she’s not interested in becoming another notch on his bedpost, she tells him to shove it, and convinces herself that her novel use of the word “no” is what’s got him hounding her all over campus. But there are two sides to every story, and Thomas is determined to make Emily hear his. Even if it does sound crazy and impossible.

*Intended for ages 18+ due to sexual situations
Genre: New Adult, Paranormal

 

 

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18073246-the-hidden?from_search=true

 

About the Author:

Kelley lives in Texas, but she swears it’s not all country music and cowboy boots… Okay, some of it is, but not all of it. She’s got an amazing husband, who continues to inspire her every day, even after twelve years and two ridiculously cute little girls.

 

http://www.kelleyrmartin.com

 

review

 

 

This book is the first one in a New Adult paranormal romance series. I discovered this book by chance and I’m happy to say that it won me over after a while without reading any paranormal romance novels.
The author succeeded in blending the codes of New Adult books with the ones commonly known in paranormal romance novels. It’s a good thing even if I do think that the sex takes too much space sometimes. Though, I like how the author didn’t fall in the used clichés when it comes to the male interest. Thomas… Damn, he’s one fine male character! (And Gabriel too, but don’t worry, there’s no love triangle).
The multiple POVs made it a little annoying in the last part of the book because it made us go back in time, revisiting a few scenes we already read, but this time from another character’s POV. It’s a little frustrating and I had a harder time enjoying it. But, I did enjoy reading the whole novel, I just think that Gabriel’s POV should have been put elsewhere as to better enjoy it.
I truly love all the characters, even the ones we barely see because they bring a little something that completes the book, they complete the atmosphere.
The mysteries are well-brought and quite well-used for the most part. It’s quite fun even sometimes and I do hope that the author will dig deeper in the next installment. I want high stakes!
The romance itself it great and I could actually ‘see’ the chemistry between Emily and Thomas. It’s always a plus. I felt for them and I’m quite eager to see more of them in the next installment. I just hope that I won’t be disappointed.
The writing style is efficient. Everything flows well and it was never boring to read. The author knows how to convey the characters thoughts and I was able to picture everything in my head, which made it hard for me to put down the book.
Though, even if we often see many sex scenes in New Adult books and I don’t mind them, I truly think that sometimes sex scenes are too much used. But don’t get me wrong, it’s not all about sex here and they work well. In fact, some are even cute.
Who read this book? What do you think about it?
Is Thomas your new book boyfriend? (He is mine!)
Rating:
3.5 to 20140118-180203.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

