Review: Wild Ones, by Kristine Wyllys

Image

Category: Adult (because I don’t see this book as a NA)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Carina Press

Pages: 156

Warnings: sex scenes.

Blurb:

Bri Martin likes her skirts too short, her heels too high, and trouble close at hand. So when big, brooding underground boxer Luke Turner comes into the bar where she works and starts a fight before she brings his first drink, she can’t help being intrigued. Luke is everything she never wanted and everything she can’t resist.

Soon, Luke is showing up everywhere Bri is, and she can’t break free of his hold on her, nor does she want to. When her best friend turns on her, it’s Luke who is there. When Luke’s opponent comes after her to send Luke a message, it’s he who comes to her rescue.

Before Bri knows it, she’s caught in the midst of a rivalry between her boyfriend and her boss, both of whom are not content to settle their scores inside the ring. She swore she’d never live this life, so like the one she once ran from. But only by confronting her past can she decide where her future lies…and whether Luke can be a part of it.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18484868-wild-ones?from_search=true

About the Author:

Kristine Wyllys, who usually answers to, “Hey, You! With the Hair!” was born in the north and now resides in the northern version of the Carolinas. She lives in a farmhouse older than she is, with a bunch of property that makes her spontaneously break out in Dixie Chicks songs every time she looks out the back door. She’s got babies, books, a boy that she fell in love with at 15, and a dog that might be a lesbian. She spends her spare time naming chickens after Harry Potter characters, breaking smart phones, and blogging.
Image

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

While it’s undeniable how talented the author is and how this main character doesn’t fall into the usual cliché in the genre, I’m not that head over heel with this novel.
As soon as I started reading this book I saw that there was a real voice quite potent even, so much so that some dialogues were too much for my taste. I had a feeling if being trapped in some kind of movie at first and it was quite disturbing.
Also, sometimes I think the descriptions and internal monologue of the main character were too long and in turn were more telling than showing what happened. A few times, it lost my interest which is a problem when the book is that short.
Then, even if I love reading romances that are quite unhealthy, here it leaves me with a taste of ‘too much’. In fact, I think it’s because throughout the novel I couldn’t relate much to the main character. Not to this extent. Even the conclusion to the book seems… I don’t even know how to put it into words. But it sure isn’t a sweet romance! Not even a love story as it is common called.
But some aspects of the plot were truly enjoyable which explains why I read this book in two days. I hope we will see more of what Luke, Cam, Theo and Brandon are really into because it’s kept too much in the dark, unfortunately.
In fact, I’m sad that the whole plot aside from the thing going on between Bri and Luke was too much in the background and underdeveloped. It could have been even more thrilling and it would have put some more perspective to the relationship between Bri and Luke.
So, if I should tell you one thing about how I feel about this book is ‘too much’. But what saved everything is the writing style. It’s perfect! The analogies, the comparisons the puns are well written, perfectly balanced and made it difficult for me to put the book down.
In the end, it’s really difficult for me to rate this book even if I’m quite eager to read the sequel.
Who read this book? What do you think about Luke? Any other character you’d like to see more in the next book?
Rating:
2.5 to Image
Leave a Reply

