Review: Wrecked, by Priscilla West

20140115-202101.jpg

Category: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: Some sex scenes.
Publisher: Blackbird Publishing
Pages: 286

Blurb:

“There would be no happy ending for us. He was too damaged. I was too broken.”

Two years ago, Lorrie’s mother was murdered. But that wasn’t the end of it. Reeling from the tragedy, Lorrie’s father spiraled into alcohol, depression, and finally suicide.

The two most important people in Lorrie’s life are both gone but she’s still alive.

Trying to recover from the tragedy, Lorrie returns to campus, ready to pick up the pieces of her life. All Lorrie wants is to get back to “normal.”

Then she meets Hunter. The man, the legend, “the Hammer.”

Hunter is a cage fighter who takes on every fight like he’s got nothing to lose. His life is a tangled mess of girls, booze, and fist fights. And while it may seem like he’s got a devil-may-care attitude, he’s fighting a private cage-match with a monster he can’t defeat.

Lorrie knows that Hunter is the exact type of guy she should stay away from, especially in her fragile state, but Hunter has other ideas.

As Hunter and Lorrie grow closer together, will they be able to overcome their pain and heal each other? Or will they both end up wrecked?

WRECKED
RESCUED (WRECKED BOOK TWO: Coming Early 2014)

About the Author:

About this author edit data
Priscilla West is the author of the Sandstone Affair and the Surrender series. She likes to write stories with sassy heroines and strong but flawed heroes.

She enjoys: cuddles, men in suits, eskimo kisses, life-sized teddy bears, and eggs over medium.

Author’s website

20140115-202240.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is the first book in a series that will count two novels and it ends on a sort of cliffhanger. I hate cliffhangers, but this one makes me want to read the next installment even more.

Of course, if you’re following my blog, you know that it was impossible for me to resist requesting this book on Netgalley. Whenever there’s a fighter, I can’t help myself but read the book. Sometimes I’m disappointed, but sometimes like with Wrecked, I fall in love for a new book boyfriend like Hunter.

I spent the weekend reading this book. I had a hard time putting it down. I’m completely in love with the plot, the characters and the way the author brought to life the characters and their complicated life.

I love to read about complicated love stories with broken characters. You can say all you want that it’s borderline unhealthy, but to be honest, when it comes to books I’m only looking for something that will make my heart beat faster, my blood pump harder and my anxiety run higher for the characters.

So yes, this story is fun and light sometimes, but mostly, you feel the under current, the drama ready to explode and it exploded a few times, making it more frustrating when the characters fell into the well-known hot and cold. But it’s not too much, or at least, it never felt too much to me.

I enjoy the twist when it comes to Hunter’s ‘secret’ because it’s different and brings a fresh outlook to an otherwise almost common story in the genre and the category. (And just between you and me, Hunter is my new Book Boyfriend.)

Also, the way the plot evolves always kept me on my toes. The characters’ relationship evolves slowly but surely, making it very thrilling to follow. Not once was I bored.

With all the good thing I’m writing in this review, you must be wondering why I’m not rating this book even higher. The female lead character annoyed me near the end of the book. I understand her pain, but I think the end is a good excuse for a cliffhanger and to make a breaking start for the next book.

Also, I’m disappointed that the author waited so long to put a few scenes from Hunter POV. If the author wanted to write some things from his POV, it could have been great to put some more scenes earlier instead of pilling some close to the end.

But if you have one book you should read in the genre, it should be this one. After all, there’re drama, a hot MMA college fighter, secrets and a sizzling attractions between the main characters. Everything to make a good weekend read!

Who read this book? Do you think Hunter is Hot Stuff or not?

Rating:

20140115-202746.jpg to 4.5

Leave a Reply

