Blog Tour – Review: Stealing Promises, by Brina Courtney

20140112-094723.jpg

20140112-095144.jpg

Category: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary “Romance”
Warning: It’s a drama, so it deals with an important subject.
Pages: 144

Book Description:

Promises are made to be kept, never stolen. But that’s exactly what happened to Victoria Blane and Levi Manor. Tragedy strikes their perfect relationship leaving Victoria struggling to overcome the darkness that threatens to bury her.

With Victoria’s life in tatters she decides that running away is easier than dealing with her troubles. But when a friend finds her on the floor in her kitchen, she knows it’s time for a change.

Brighton Hanley knows what it’s like to lose someone. He knows what it’s like to be haunted by things that can never change. When he meets Victoria he recognizes the pain she’s trying to bury deep in her eyes. He knows she’s trying to run away, but he also knows that you can’t run forever. 

Victoria is drawn to Brighton in ways she never expected. He becomes her champion, her life line… her sunshine in the darkness. But is Victoria ready to let go of the past and grab on to her future? Or will she run away from Brighton before she can be hurt again?

About The Author

Brina Courtney is a young adult author obsessed with chocolate, crime shows, and fantasy movies. She’s spent the last few years as an elementary teacher and a high school cheering coach. She lives in a small town in Pennsylvania with her husband and two very loud, small dogs.

Author’s Blog

20140112-095530.jpg

I received this book after I signed up to be a part of the blog tour. Of course, it doesn’t influence my review.

While I enjoy reading fun and light love stories, my first love is drama. For some unknown reason, I love to read a book in which angst, drama and intensity are a big part of the whole story. When it touches my heart and makes my eyes water, it’s amazing.

Unfortunately, this book missed the mark for me. While I enjoyed it, I think that the plot is not flowing enough or enough balanced to make it unforgetable. It’s possible that I’m asking for too much, but the story itself is a gut wrenching one so it needs to gut me to win me over.

While I think the author did a good job portraying the grief process, I think she spent too much time developing Levi and Victoria’s story to the point that it felt too long. I’m sure the author wanted to make us feel how special their relationship was, but when you devide the whole book in parts, this part is too long and the whole part with Brighton is too short and not enough detailed and explored. Not once did I feel some kind of connection between Victoria and Brighton. It’s an issue for me.

In fact, I think that this book is too short. Even the ending is rushed. In this kind of story, it’s needed to feel everything the character feels, to see the slow process of opening up and moving on and not just vaguely talk about it and put the character in this or that situation just for the sake of moving the story along. That’s how I felt while reading the last part of the book.

What I truly loved is the whole part during which we see Victoria dealing with her grief. I felt for her, wanted the best for, I was hoping that she would find the strength to move on. It’s something the author did really well and with care. Just for this part I’m glad I read this book.

But as I said, all the parts are not as good and it dampened my enjoyment of reading this book. Maybe I was expecting for too much, maybe I was expecting something else, but one thing is for sure, I’m sure a lot of people will enjoy this book.

Because the ending is so rushed and left me with a taste of unfinished business, I hope there will be another book with Victoria and her next steps into her life. Fingers crossed!

Rating:

20140112-095748.jpg to 3.5

Leave a Reply

