Elevator Heat, by B.D. Rowe

20140103-094422.jpg

Category: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warning: None
Pages: 128

Blurb:

Twenty-year-old Maddie has had a crush on Colin, her studly internship supervisor, for three long months. She struggles focusing on her work, and always finds herself gazing at his wavy brown hair, his chiseled cheekbones, his kissable lips. Little does she know, however, that he has feelings for her, too.

The problem is no matter how much time they spend together in the office, neither one can ever make the first move.

That is, until they both step into the old, rickety elevator late one Friday night.

And things start to get a little steamy…

About the Author:

B.D. Rowe is a Sacramento native with a penchant for crafting tales of romance, mystery, and intrigue. Crashing Into You is B.D. Rowe’s New Adult debut.

20140103-094602.jpg

I received this ebook via Netgalley for an honest review.

The premise sounded good, but in fact I’m quite disappointed. I don’t like writing such a review, but even if the author is skilled enough to write, I didn’t connect with the story and the characters. Moreover, it’s more a novella than a novel, which got me confused for a second with how the plot was unfolding.

Don’t get me wrong, the author is not a bad writer even if my rating could make you think it. It’s just the plot, the narration and the characters that bored me most of the time. I finished this book in an hour and a half and the first thought I had when I closed my kindle app was “meh”.

There are everything to make this story thrilling from a frown upon attraction, two people locked in an elevator at night to an undeniable attraction, but it didn’t work for me.

First, the prologue of some sort put me off and I almost stopped reading. The POV was difficult and not very agreable. When you start a story, it’s better to be sucked into it and here it’s not what happened. But when the actual story started it was better and I really enjoyed it even.

Unfortunately, when I saw that the story was told in dual POV, I was slightly afraid that it’d be repetitive. And to be honest, it is a little repetitive. For example, when both characters are in the elevator some things are ‘re-told’ from the other character POV. The author could have made it way more thrilling funny or emotional than that. I don’t see the full potential of the plot and characters in display and it’s frustrating.

Also, since we don’t have much of a background for the two characters and how they behaved for months working together, I couldn’t believe in their feelings. Attraction, yes, feelings, not so much.

Maybe you won’t feel the same way, maybe I’m not the right reader for this story, but I’m really disappointed…

If you’re looking for a fast and quite light story to read over break, maybe you should try this one out. Maybe.

I’m sorry if my review is harsh, but I can’t truly say that I enjoyed reading this story. It’s quite hard to rate it as I hate rating a book low, but it’s barely reaching average for me. Sorry.

Rating:

20140103-095135.jpg

Leave a Reply

