Last Chance Proposal, by Barbara DeLeo

20140102-180647.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warning: None
Publisher: Entangled: Bliss
Pages: 169

Blurb:

A wife he needs. The woman he desires.

Cy Hathaway needs a wife, fast, to win custody of his son, Jonty. He returns home to discover the childhood sweetheart he once left behind has become a vibrant, beautiful woman. Even though wanting to sweep her off her feet wasn’t part of the plan…

For Ellie, Cy’s sudden reappearance awakens a flood of memories—and resentments for the way he’d abandoned her all those years ago. But she has a life now, a career. She can’t simply drop everything and get hitched, even if the sight of him still makes her heart race.

But after Ellie meets his little boy, she can’t refuse. Certain she has a grip on her old feelings for Cy, she agrees to marry her first love until he gains custody. But when did helping out a friend become something with the capacity to hijack her heart?

About the Author:

Barbara DeLeo’s first book, co-written with her best friend, was a story about beauty queens in space. She was eleven, and the sole, handwritten copy was lost years ago, much to everyone’s relief. It’s some small miracle that she kept the faith and is now living her dream of writing sparkling contemporary romance with unforgettable characters.

After completing degrees in Psychology and English then travelling the world, Barbara married her winemaker hero and had two sets of twins.

Barbara still loves telling stories about finding love in all the wrong places, with not a beauty queen or spaceship in sight.

Visit Barbara on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/BarbaraDeLeoA…

Author’s website

20140102-180843.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

I’ve been following this publisher since they launched their first title and it blew my mind. When I saw a title available on Netgalley and read this interesting blurb, I requested it right away and was delighted when I received the go to read and review it.

While it’s obvious why Entangled decided to publish this novel, it didn’t work its magic on me. I missed this little something that makes a book hard to put down, the kind you’re craving even ten minutes of free time to read another chapter.

The author is talented to recreate the feeling you have in small towns and to give us a great background for the main characters, but also for the secondary ones which makes it easy to settle into this story. But I didn’t connect enough with Cy and Ellie.

These are great characters and the little boys were a wonderful addition, but I missed the chemistry between Cy and Ellie. I couldn’t truly see it, feel it as I should have. And yet, the author described it well, made it sweet and even frustrating, but I didn’t feel involved in their story. Maybe I needed more of an emphasis on the characters issues to be truly invested into them. I don’t really know why. I enjoyed this novel, but could put it down without a problem, even welcomed it once.

There is a lot of on and off going on between Cy and Ellie, but usually I love that part in Romance novels so I don’t think it’s really my issue. In fact, I think it’s because it wasn’t explained enough why the characters acted the way they did at times and I couldn’t always understand or empathise with them which is a big problem for me.

But I love the premise, the secondary characters – special shout out for the two boys – and the settings. I enjoyed this little trip to New Zealand.

In the end, I see the talent of the author, but I think this story could have been even better if the feelings were more heightened in some scenes. The first chapter caught my attention, but it wasn’t held for the whole novel to this extent.

Maybe I’m the only one, so let le know What you think about it if you’re reading it or once you finished it.

What do you think about Cyn? And about the couple Cyn/Ellie?

Rating:

20140102-181558.jpg to 3.5

Leave a Reply

