Review: Sneaking Candy, by Lisa Burstein

20131218-090623.jpg

Category: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Warnings: None. A few sexy scenes, but if you’re used to read NA books you won’t be shocked.

Blurb:

All I ever wanted was to make a name for myself as Candice Salinas, creative writing grad student at the University of Miami. Of course, secretly I already have made a name for myself: as Candy Sloane, self-published erotic romance writer. Though thrilled that my books are selling and I have actual fans, if anyone at UM found out, I could lose my scholarship…and the respect of my faculty advisor, grade-A-asshole Professor Dylan.

Enter James Walker, super-hot local barista and—surprise!—my student. Even though I know a relationship is totally off-limits, I can’t stop myself from sneaking around with James, taking a few cues from my own erotic writing…if you catch my drift. Candy’s showing her stripes for the first time in my real life, and I’ve never had so much fun. But when the sugar high fades, can my secrets stay under wraps?

Add this book to goodreads

About the author:

Lisa Burstein is a tea seller by day and a writer by night. She received her MFA in Creative Writing from the Inland Northwest Center for Writers at Eastern Washington University. She is the author of Pretty Amy, The Next Forever, Dear Cassie and Candy, Stripped. As well as a contributor to the upcoming essay collection, Break These Rules: 35 YA Authors On Speaking Up, Standing Out, and Being Yourself. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her very patient husband, a neurotic dog and two cats.

Author’s website

20131218-090835.jpg

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

It’s not the first book I read written by this author and Sneaking Candy only confirms that I truly enjoy her stories.

First of all, once I read the blurb I thought “a forbidden sexy love story on campus ground? Where do I sign?!” I mean, there’re all the best ingredients to make this story a page turner. I’m not disappointed at all and this author knows how to write a steamier story!

Granted, a few things put me off, but I giggled like a school girl too many times to say that I didn’t fully enjoyed reading this book. Not only the plot is well-built, but the characters are compelling. Amanda is a fun and great support character, James is THE swoon worthy and amazing male lead character and you will enjoy the witty dialogues he has with Candice and Candice is an interesting, complicated and fun main character.

I liked Candice right away which is not always the case when I start reading a book. But the fact that she’s also an erotica writer hiding it to her college peers makes it quite entertaining and gave a few hints at some fun scenes.

Yet, even if I truly enjoyed reading Candice POV, at some point I was a little bored by her internal fight between beeing Candice the TA and Candy the erotica writer. It ran a little too long for my taste – or maybe is it repetitive? – to rate this book five stars. It’s the only bemol, which is really not much, I’m telling you.

Also, I kind of enjoyed the whole thing with Professeur Dylan. It adds quite nicely to the plot and brings just enough tension to make me feel for Candice, to be afraid for her future. And if I want to be honest, I would have loved to see more of him near the end. You’ll see what I mean. 🙂

To conclude my short review, I should tell you to buy and read this book. Not only you will have a good time, but you will add a new book boyfriend to your list. James is really a drool-worthy character with a great personality.

Seaking Candy is a great new addition to the New Adult family. Goo job!

Who read this one? Do you think James is Hot Stuff or not? (I seriously think he is.) 😉

Rating:

20131218-091404.jpg 4.5

Leave a Reply

