Review: Elect, by Rachel Van Dyken

20131218-094137.jpg

Category: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance & Mysteries
Warnings: None.

Blurb:

Would you die for the one you love?
Nixon Abandonato made his choice. And now he has to pay the price. Tracey is the love of his life, but being with him has made her a target of his family’s enemies. The only way to keep Trace alive is convince the world she means nothing to him.

Trace Rooks has fallen irrevocably in love with the son of her family’s sworn rival, and she knows in her bones nothing can tear them apart. Until Nix suddenly pushes her away and into the arms of his best friend… But Trace isn’t ready to give up on a future with Nix–and if he won’t fight for them, she will.

In the end, a sacrifice must be made. A life for a life. For what better way to cover a multitude of sins than with the blood of a sinner . . .

Add this book to goodreads

About the author:

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she’s not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.
She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband and their snoring Boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers! You can follow her writing journey at http://www.rachelvandykenauthor.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachel-…

Author’s website

20131218-094413.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

I read the first installment a few months ago and really enjoyed it as the few twists were unexpected and the characters very interesting. I was eager to read this new installment.

Now that I’m finished with it, I’m delighted and yet a little disappointed. In the first installment, I really loved Trace while here she annoyed me to no end. That being said, Nixon and Chase are amazing and outweight everything that I think are lacking – like the little use of descriptions and overabundance of dialogues in the first part, or the many, too many indeed, twists that make the whole plot slightly confusing at times.

Like always, the author won me over with her well thought out story and her characters complicated and very thrilling to follow. I mean, if there’s one story in which the author is going to make her readers barely breathing, it’s with this series and with this second installment if I have to be more precise.

Throughout the novel I didn’t know what to expect and fear clawed at me in the best way possible. The setting is unique in this genre of books and even if it feels cliché at times, it’s also very much addictive to read about.

But, and here it’s a matter of personal taste, I have a hard time with love triangle and there’s a big one here even if the love story is not the only focus of the plot – far from it. I’m often if not always rooting for the wrong guy and it’s really frustrating, but here it’s not what happened. For the most part of the book, I didn’t know who I preferred: Nixon or Chase. It came to the point that I agonized the fast coming end and Trace’s behavior. To be honest, I find her quite weak in this novel which is a disappointment.

But this book is an amazing follow up. The author built her plot like a thriller of some sort and it’s a welcome new twist in the genre. Some things are under-developped in my opinion because there’re so many twists and secrets which kind of make me unsure how much is too much.

But the thing I should point and this is why I love reading this author’s novels. Her writing style is dynamic and flows effortlessly so. It’s graphic when it needs to, emotional in the right places without being too mellow and the humor is there, brought into ‘life’ by characters you always want to know more about.

I can’t wait to read more about the other characters as, I think, they also have their part to play and their story to tell.

I recommend you this series. Give it a shot!

I’ve got a tough question for you, my friends. Chase or Nixon?

Who read the first installment? Who is eager for the release of this one?

Rating:

3.5 –

20131218-094935.jpg

Leave a Reply

