Trusting You, by L.P. Dover

20131209-101010.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: None
Pages: 296

Blurb:

I trust you …

These are the three words that Melissa Ashford wishes she could say to someone; to the one person she can fully give herself to and not worry about being betrayed. Being twenty-eight years old and divorced from a cheating ex-husband, Melissa enjoys her freedom … until one night when she finds herself indulging in a one night stand that changes everything.

There’s something about the alluring Brett Walker that has Melissa feeling things she’s never had with any other man. These feelings not only scare her, but push her past her limits as well. Just when she begins to open her soul to this new love, their bond is put to the test by jealousies from the past trying to break them apart.

It’s not only Melissa’s trust that’s put on the line, but Brett’s as well. Will their love be strong enough to get them through the lies? Will Melissa finally be able to say those three words she’s been dying to say? I trust you …

Add This Book to Goodreads

About the author:

I am an avid reader that loves my collection of books. Writing has always been a passion of mine and now I am glad that I get to share my passion with the world. I live in North Carolina and I absolutely love being a southern girl. I spent several years in college starting out with a major in Psychology and then switching to dental. I worked in the dental field for eight years and then decided to stay home with my two beautiful girls. I spent the beginning of my reading years reading suspense thrillers, but now I can’t get away from the paranormal/fantasy books. I knew ever since then that if I wrote anything it would be in a paranormal aspect. Now that I have started on my passion and began writing, you will not see me go anywhere without a notebook and pen.

20131209-101151.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

It’s the first book I read written by L.P. Dover and while it’s a pleasant read, it’s not a book that I will remember in a few short weeks.

The plot itself is very interesting and the few twists put here and there did the job to keep me interested. After all, I enjoyed this book enough to finish it in two days! 🙂

But even if the plot is good enough, I think that the author should have put more under the spotlight Melissa and Brett’s issues. It would have helped making me feel more in tune with their love story. It takes off too easily for my taste.

That being said, these two are really sweet – and hot – to read about. The chemistry is well described, the sex scenes maybe too numerous which puts the characterization not as important as it should have been.

I enjoyed very much the subplot around Melissa’s ex-husband. I was quite into it and enjoyed the way the author brought it up. Sometimes it was too fast, though. The fear for the main character couldn’t build enough to qualify this novel a page turner, in my opinion at least.

Though, even if I’ve got mixed feelings about this book which makes it really hard for me to rate it, I think it’s worth the read. This book is perfect to chill out and enjoy an easy read, fast with that.

But I have to point out the main issue I have with this novel. Dialogues. In my opinion and it’s a matter of personal taste, the dialogues don’t sound ‘real’. Sometimes they’re quite clichés and other times they are too explanatory which breaks the rhythm of the story. The funny thing is that in the second half of the book it gets better. Is it me or is the author more at ease with the dialogues in the second half of the novel? I’m not sure, but I was more into it by then.

The ending is sweet and exactly what I hoped it would be which leaves me with a little smile and no frustration. If only more books would leave me feelings like this! 🙂

As you can read, I’ve got mixed feelings about this book and it’s all the more difficult for me to write a review. So don’t think I didn’t enjoy this story because I did, but not as much as I hoped I would.

I’m sure you will enjoy reading Melissa and Brett’s story and will swoon at some of their scenes.

Who read this book? What do you think about Brett?

Rating:

20131209-101652.jpg

Leave a Reply

