Review: Her Sexiest Mistake, by Jill Shalvis

20131122-151157.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: a few open door sex scenes.
Publisher: Forever Yours
Pages: 320

Blurb:

Mia Appleby finally has the life she always wanted. She’s escaped her trailer trash childhood and built a nice life for herself with a marketing job and a cute, little condo. But no matter how much baggage she’s ditched from her past, she still hasn’t managed to shake her greatest weakness-men. So when her new neighbor turns out to be single and oh-so-sexy, Mia’s worried she’s playing with fire . . .

Kevin McKnight can’t get enough of his gorgeous neighbor, but after one amazing night, she’s already showing him the door. Something tells him this is the way she handles most men. But Kevin is far from your average guy-and he’s ready to prove it to Mia. When a blast from her past shakes up Mia’s life in a major way, will she stick with her self-sufficient solo act . . . or take a chance leaning on Kevin’s strong shoulders?

Add this book to Goodreads

About the Author:

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras with her family and far too many assorted quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s latest, RUMOR HAS IT, on shelves and ereaders now, and get all her bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold. Also, visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Connect with Jill on Facebook: http://facebook.com/JillShalvis

Author’s website

Review:

I received this novel from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

While this story is a fun and light story as I expected it to be, it’s also more than just that. What I wasn’t expecting before I started reading this novel, is that the characters bring a whole other layer to the story and it won me over from the very first page to the last one.

Mia is an interesting character. She’s fun in an unconventional way and I was drawn to her right away. As the amazingly sweet and hot Kevin tries to open her up, I wanted to slap her for being so frustrating and stupid, but it is done in the best way and with finess. The author mastered the characterization of all her characters, even the secondary ones. And damn, I loved reading the dialogues between Mia and Hope and the ones between Mia and Kevin. I laughed a few times, was sad for the characters and I needed to read always another chapter, unable to put this book down.

So yes, this book is more than what I bargained for and when it happens it’s amazing. And let me tell you, Kevin and Mia together are like fireworks – and it’s not always for the best! 😉

I enjoyed the author’s writing style as it flows perfectly and she put a lot of work on her dialogues, so much that I could have thought that it was from a movie. It’s that natural.

The little group of characters create a real world, one I let myself fall into happily. It’s the first book I read from this author and let me tell you, it won’t be the last.

The chapters are well built, the different POVs well brought and not confusing or repetitive at all and the transitions are flawless. No parts are boring or useless and everything is put into use to better help the reader to “see” the characters and not just read about them.

The only thing I’m a little disappointed with is the end that is quite fast and abrupt even if predictable and perfect. I thought that the author would put more time into the resolution, but well, it’s often what I complain about in books.

Without a doubt, you should add this book to your tbr. I can’t wait to know what you think about Kevin McKnight! 🙂

Who read this one already? What do you think about it?

Rating:

20131122-151738.jpg / 4.5

Leave a Reply

