Review: Wanted, by J. Kenner

20131120-201900.jpg

Category: Erotica
Genre: Contemporary
Publisher: Bantam
Pages: 352

Blurb:

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, Bared to You, and Release Me comes an all-new erotic series of three enigmatic and powerful men, and the striking women who can bring them to their knees.

He is everything I crave, all I desperately want—and he is everything I can’t have.

Evan Black embodies my every fantasy. He is brilliant, fierce, and devastatingly handsome. But he is also headstrong, dangerous, and burdened with secrets.

My family warned me to stay away, that I could never handle Evan’s dark dealings or scarred past. Maybe I should have listened. Maybe I should have run. But our desire is undeniable, and some temptations you just can’t fight.

And from the moment we touch—the passion between us consuming us both—I know that I will never be the same.

Wanted is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

Add this book to Goodreads

About the Author:

J. Kenner spent more than ten years as a litigator in Southern California and Central Texas, using her rare free time to indulge her passion for writing. California born, she now lives—and writes—in Texas, with her husband and daughters.

Author’s website

Review:

I received this novel from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

This book is a first installment, but don’t worry! There’s no cliffhanger. 🙂

I truly enjoyed reading this novel as it’s very well written, thrilling and with characters very well developped. In the erotica genre it’s not often that you see a characterization taken that thouroughly, so when it happens, I’m in bookish heaven.

Angie/Lina is an interesting character who is not afraid to go after what she wants, or who she wants as it is the case here, and it’s great to read about a female character not caring if the guy pushes her away. She tries again and again and it was quite fun at times.

But fortunately, the author cuts the chase just before it starts to get old, which means that boredom in not in the cards! When Angie and Evan finaly let go, it’s quite explosive! But it’s well written, with taste even.

Speaking – or writing – of Evan, he’s an interesting character even if too transparent. I mean, I knew almost right away what his deal was and what it was about the Da Vinci notebook. I think that it could have been better hidden, but maybe I’m being just picky because, overall, the mystery is well brought.

So yes, Angie and Evan together are amazing and the chemistry is undeniable. I was happy whenever there’s a scene with them together. The author succeeded in blending together sweet and hot scenes with them, switching effortlessly and without making me feel as if there was something not working. It’s effortless and yet very much enticing.

The secondary characters are very interesting too and I hope to see more of them very, very soon. Tons of possibilities there and it’s making me quite giddy just thinking about it. 🙂

But even if I had a really good time with this book and that the author has a talent to write, I’m a little disappointed with how fast the story ends. Don’t get me wrong, the novel is a very decent size, but it’s in the way the things are resolved that bother me. You have these big revelations and issues in the way – I can’t explain more than this or else it would ruin your future read – and it’s over and finished with in less than 10 pages. In my opinion, it’s too rushed and impact negatively to all the story aside from the romance, because it’s also a suspense kind of book which means that it’s an important part of the novel.

Do I feel that way because I’m also very much into thrillers and suspense books? Maybe, but the thing is, I can’t rate it five stars because of this and it’s annoying me to no end knowing I had such a great time reading this book.

Another thing that is more on the anecdotic side than anything else. The female character, Angie, often says “oh” throughout the novel and it made me cringe countless times.

But this novel is worth the read. In the genre, this book is coming in my top list in 2013 as it is quite different and so very well written. The writing is flawless, flows so very much that I didn’t see the time flying and even if the author uses a few things you often see in books in this genre, she doesn’t overuse them as much as build from them. So far, I can’t think of another book quite like this one.

But once again, I knew early on – very early on – what the big secrets were. It dampened my reading enjoyment in the last part of the book.

I can’t wait for the next installment, but I should be patient as I know it’s not going to release before quite a few – too many 😉 – months.

Is this book on your tbr list? I can’t wait to know if you think that Evan Black is Hot Stuff or not.

Rating:

20131120-203333.jpg

20131120-203349.jpg

2 thoughts on “Review: Wanted, by J. Kenner

Leave a Reply

