Review: Working It, by Kendall Ryan

20131116-191716.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: Many sex scenes.
Publisher: Atria Books
Pages: 352

Blurb:

A story of heart-stopping, toe-curling passion by the New York Times bestselling author of Hard to Love, Resisting Her, and The Impact of You.

Emmy Clarke is out of her depth in New York City’s fashion world, but when she lands a job as an assistant at a modeling agency it seems like the perfect mix of business and pleasure. Working under the notorious Fiona Stone is a nightmare, but there’s one distinct perk: ogling the ridiculously hot male models who parade through the office—particularly rising star Ben Shaw.

Ben is everything Emmy’s not: exquisitely gorgeous, highly paid, and well-traveled. He’s also got more issues than Vogue. Emmy looks after Ben on photo shoots, but she refuses to become another one of his lusting groupies. Ben finds Emmy’s refreshingly real attitude to be surprisingly attractive.

Against a backdrop of the most fashionable cities in the world, casual flirting turns into an illicit affair, but when Ben’s twisted past is revealed, and the bitter Fiona catches wind of their relationship, their careers and hearts are threatened.

Add this book to Goodreads

About the Author:

Romance author. Shamelessly addicted to bad boys, kissing and steamy romance novels brimming with dark, angsty tension.

Author’s Facebook page

20131116-192142.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

I enjoyed other books from this author and when I read the blurb a few months ago, I was quite eager to read it. While I had a really good time reading it, I think it’s quite the cliché kind of story even if very hot and quite addictive. Let me explain…

First of all, I should warn you because you’re going to melt and burn while reading this book with the ever so hot and naughty Ben Shaw. Is he unique? No, because we often read about the same kind of character in this genre, the dark, handsome and so very hot with a naughty side and who is also tortured, but it always works. I’m just slightly sad that he’s not more outstanding in his own way. But believe me, Ben is the perfect male character for whom you’ll drool on your kindle/kobo/paperback/whatever.

Emmy is a sweet character, not too naïve or too much of a temptress. She’s like your average girl with her own doubts and it’s quite well brought even if I wanted to shake her a few times. That’s also why I had a hard time to put down my iPad. 😉

Kendall Ryan is her talented self and delivered a story well built, well written and entertaining with a heavy dose of hotness. Wow! Believe me! (For example, I wouldn’t mind to see again Braydon, just saying).

But even if it’s a great book, there wasn’t much of a twist I wasn’t expecting. I even found a few dull scenes and unfortunately, they didn’t help the characterization of Emmy. If I have to push things further, I’d say that I don’t like her all that much. But I expect more in the next book.

Fiona is a character I enjoyed to despise throughout the novel, so it’s well done. I’m quite eager to see what she’s got up her sleeve next. B****. No need for me to translate that word, I think. 🙂

I also hope to see more of Emmy’s family next. As a girl close to her family, I think the author should have put a real scene with them in this first book instead of a short phone call. It would have helped with the characterization, in my opinion of course.

So even if this book doesn’t offer a new breather into this genre that is starting to be saturated, it works perfectly with the writing style of the author and the use of the perfect mix of “the average girl meets the good looking if dark hot man”.

Add it to your tbr if you love that kind of book and if you’re looking for a hot read to warm your Fall days.

Who already read it? What do you think about Ben Shaw? Hot Stuff or not? (say yes!) Drop me a line!

Rating:

20131116-192703.jpg

Leave a Reply

