Review: Beg, by C.D. Reiss

20131113-203542.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Erotica
Publisher: Flip City Media Inc.
Pages: 102
Warnings: sex scenes.

Blurb:

This novella is the first in a series

My name is Monica. I’m a singer born and raised in Los Angeles.
I’ve stopped dating. When I cut a record, or win a Grammy, maybe then I’ll be with someone, but every man in my past has done everything he could to make me submit myself to him, and it’s gotten in the way of my career. I won’t do it again.

But there’s Jonathan. He owns the high-rise hotel where I work, and he is gorgeous and charming. I refuse to fall in love with him, even though when he asks me to submit to him, I want nothing more.

****GRAPHIC LANGUAGE, SEX, AND ADULT SITUATIONS****

20131113-210528.jpg

I received this novella after I requested it on Netgalley. It doesn’t influence my review.

I’m not a big fan of novellas and even less when it’s a serial, but Beg might be the exception. I truly enjoyed reading it and I’m quite eager to know more about Monica and Jonathan.

The chemistry between these two is obvious and is well described by the author to make us thrilled and eager to read more. Unfortunately, it’s so short – which is the norm with novellas – that it was over way too fast. I also hate to be left hanging that way when it’s obvious that this is a story that could be solved in a novel or at least in a two book series. That’s probably the only downside, but it’s my taste.

The characterization is great, very efficient. Jonathan is mysterious and hot and closed off enough to make us drool. I can’t be sure as this novella is very short, but he could be one hell of male character that could be representative of this genre. Monica is quite a complicated character and it’s What I love the most in books. I’m not sure yet if I understand her fuly, but I do enjoy reading her story.

The secondary characters are also very interesting and I hope that they won’t be kept in the background and that they will play an important part. All of these characters help to create a believable atmosphere which is very important to be caught into such a story.

The writing style is also flawless even if some of the dialogues aren’t flowing that well.

All in all, this story is a good surprise and I’m sure to read the other novellas even if I don’t like the serial aspect that is a new trend.

What do you think about Jonathan? Hot Stuff or not? What do you think about novellas set into a serial?

Who read Beg already? What do you think about it.

Rating:

20131113-210715.jpg

6 thoughts on “Review: Beg, by C.D. Reiss

  1. Diana says:

    I read the entire series and I loved it. The serial style I enjoyed cause I’m a sucker for cliff hangers but also I didn’t have to wait so long in between stories. Sometimes in full novels they take so long to release the next book that I end up forgetting some key factors in the story. In my opinion I thought the books in this series got better and better and thought the writing was beautiful, yes it was steamy, yes it was hot, but it also was well crafted. With each book I was more and more vested in these characters and was sad to say bye when the series ended with Sing. But thankfully I was rewarded with a short story, , Monica and I was able to see my favorites again. This is a series I will reread again and again !!!!!

  2. melissa cooper says:

    I just read the whole Songs of Submission series by CD Reiss & absolutely LOVED it! It is one of my favorites I’ve read this year! I just adore Jonathan Drazen & CD Reiss’s writing! I am a huge fan & look forward to more books from her! 😀

  3. jeanie s. says:

    The novella/serial format can be a wonderful experience in the hands of some one who understands it. And CD Reid’s knows how to work it like a two dollar whore. She develops characters we want to get to know better, builds the plot and tension, and leaves us panting for more, but never leavesus waiting too long. Jonathan’s not the cardboard tycoon that so often populates this genre and Monica is driven without being the stereotypical sassy heroine. And of course the sex is HOT and edgy and emotional. Their journey together is lyrical and gritty. Take it. You won’t be disappointed

  4. Michelle says:

    Serials have to be well written to work. I’ve read this series and fell absolutely in lust with it. CD’s writing is epic. With so many options out there for readers who love romance/erotica it is nice to come across a series that is well written and thought out. Even her shorter installments of the Songs of Dominance shorts read much more like longer stories than just short scenes.

    Jonathan comes to life as this series goes on, he was hot in Beg, but he turned on the heat as the series unfolds.

  5. ohiomommy23 says:

    O….. where to start…… Jonathan Drazen is definitely HOTT HOTT HOTT!!!! He is the definition of an Alpha Male. He is sexy,alluring, confident, rich…. I could go on and on…… I think Novellas being set in a series can be exciting! You don’t have to buy an expensive book when in the first few pages you end up not liking it…… I find a novella series to be exciting and that is what I love in a good book. I want that excitement, I want my brain to think of what could happen next….. Novellas to me are like reading a television series script….. or a movie……. I have read the entire series and it IS A MUST READ!!!!! This series, her characters, her writing is Soooooo unique!!! I guarantee there isn’t another book that you will pick up that will ever be like Songs of Submission. Every novella leaves you wanting more and More is exactly what you get! CD Reiss is a flawless writer and her series will make you feel every emotion, every heartache, every smile, and leave you in the BIGGEST BOOK HANGOVER You will EVER Experience when you get to finish the series! I literally wanted to yell, scream……..hit my kindle! I cried, I laughed and now……. I’m re-reading 🙂

  6. Bernice says:

    I was captured by this story from the first chapter, not your average Dom/Sub BDSM love story…It is more real life than other books of this genre. The characters are relatable and engaging, you laugh and *ouch* with them but most of all I fell in love with them.. since this is a series you can expect cliff hangers and you just need to pick up the next instalment… C.D. Reiss has created an epic love story & very eloquently written – I loved all 7 novellas & 3 PoV’s in this series!

Leave a Reply

