Review: Solace in Scandal, by Kimberly Dean

20131111-143921.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: several open door sex scenes.
Publisher: Mischief Books
Pages: 200

Blurb:

Greed and lies bound them together, but will the truth tear their love apart?

When Elena Bardot suffers the backlash of a Ponzi scheme orchestrated by her father, she retreats to the abandoned estate of his partners in crime. Wolfe Manor is lush and private, a perfect place to lick her wounds – until the notorious prodigal son returns. Disgraced billionaire Alex Wolfe is aloof, imposing, and sexy as hell. Elena knows she shouldn’t want him, but attraction overrules her head.

Life behind bars has changed Alex. He doesn’t have time for the complication of a gorgeous little brunette – especially one with her name – but the tension between them escalates. Lust overwhelms their resistance, and the sex is hot and cathartic. They’ve both been betrayed by family, hurt by society, and cast as villains. Alone together, they take solace in slow kisses and sensual nights. Yet while Elena may be content to hide from the world, Alex is driven to reclaim his place on top of it. This time, he’s determined to take her with him.

Add book to Goodreads

About the Author:

Kimberly Dean is an award-winning romance author. She has written for Black Lace Books, Red Sage Publishing, Ellora’s Cave, Avon Red, and Pocket Books. She enjoys the freedom and creativity allowed in writing romance, especially with all the interesting cross-genres that have been exploding on the scene. Yet she still believes that a good contemporary romance can save a bad day. When not writing, she enjoys movies, sports, traveling, music, and sunshine.

Author’s website

20131111-144501.jpg

I received this novel after I requested it on Netgalley. It doesn’t influence my review.

When I was browsing through titles on Netgalley, I saw this cover and it caught my attention and once I read the blurb, I knew that I had to read it. I was intrigued, hoping to find a good romance.

While I think Solace in Scandal starts too slow for my taste to accelerate way too fast with the characters’ relationship, I was caught into the author’s writing. And to be honest, the plot around the Ponzi scheme their families orchestrated is very interesting. It’s quite a unique setting and I was eager to see how it would play out when both characters would get closer.

Elena and Alex bring steam to his story, so much so that I can’t really see the love. I felt the sexual tension between them, the lust is ever present and well described, but I have to take for granted that they love each other – which is clearly said near the end – and aren’t just in lust because that was all I felt; lust. That bothers me a tiny bit and that’s why I’m not rating it five stars.

The plot is very well built, well enough to thrill me and to make me want to read faster. The questions aren’t answered right away, the answers are brought slowly to build up along side with their relationship. I saw Elena and Alex starting to trust each other, fighting against the world when their relationship was outted and it felt quite real. The author did well and it’s obvious that the characterization is mastered.

The ending is almost sudden in a way, but it ends the story perfectly, giving all the answers that arose throughout the book. But to be honest, I would have loved to see Elena’s mother meeting Alex in the last chapter. After all, her mother is an important character who suffered from what Elena’s father did and it would have been interesting to see more of her instead of just ‘hearing’ about her.

This novel is the kind of book I can’t really criticize as everything is working perfectly as it is. The small things I pointed out here are more of a personal taste rather than issues within the story.

All in all, it’s a very good story with interesting characters brought in a plot not all that common. It’s rare enough in the genre to point it out. And it’s refreshing! But don’t get me wrong, it’s not a funny and light story.

The author knows how to write steamy scenes without being over the top and without forgetting the plot. She knows the codes that are common in Romance novels to make it work and her writing style is efficient.

I recommend this book if you’re looking for a book in this genre. You shouldn’t be disappointed by this stand-alone. I’m pretty sure to read more from this author.

Who read this one? Do you think that Alex Wolfe is Hot Stuff or not? (I’d say yes…)

Rating:

20131111-151543.jpg

Leave a Reply

