Definitely, Maybe in Love, by Ophelia London

20131028-171953.jpg

Category: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: None
Publisher: Entangled Embrace

Blurb:

Spring Honeycutt wants two things: to ace her sustainable living thesis and to save the environment. Both seem hopelessly unobtainable until her college professor suggests that with a new angle, her paper could be published. Spring swears she’ll do whatever it takes to ensure that happens.

“Whatever it takes,” however, means forming a partnership with the very hot, very privileged, very conceited Henry Knightly.

Henry is Spring’s only hope at publication, but he’s also the über-rich son of a land developer and cash-strapped Spring’s polar opposite. Too bad she can’t help being attracted to the way he pushes her buttons, both politically and physically. As they work on her thesis, Spring finds there’s more to Henry than his old money and argyle sweaters…but can she drop the loud-and-proud act long enough to let him in? Suddenly, choosing between what she wants and what she needs puts Spring at odds with everything she believes in.

Definitely, Maybe in Love is a modern take on Pride and Prejudice that proves true love is worth risking a little pride.

20131028-172144.jpg

I received this book from Entangled Publishing. It doesn’t influence my review.

First of all, when I read that this book is a modern-day kind of Pride and Prejudice novel, I knew I had to read it. I’m a sucker for such stories and even if more often than not I’m disappointed, this time I’m most definitely in love with this novel!

I had an amazing time reading this book, so much that I ended up reading all day Sunday. Needless to say that I was thrilled that I had nothing else to do, nothing that was of importance that is. 🙂

The author gave a real voice to Spring – I’m in love with that name by the way – and it was really pleasant to ‘see’ how she changed throughout the story, how she opened up to Henry and how she tried to get up when she was crushed. Spring is the kind of female character I love in this genre of book because even if she is strong, she also has her failure. And it’s for the best!

Henry is an amazing character. It took me a little while to understand him and that is thrilling, believe me. His banters with Spring and how he loves to press her ‘buttons‘ is fun and quite hilarious at times. I was never bored when these two were together.

The plot itself is flawless. Granted, I would have loved to see more of Spring and Henry’s parents, but to tell you the truth, it’s not even needed. The secondary characters are well-rounded and bring something to the story, the scenes and twists are kept together perfectly to keep the reader enthralled and my Pride and Prejudice fan self was in heaven with the little tid-bits making me think about it. Not much or else it would have been too predictable, but just enough to make me sigh contendedly several times.

This novel is not a ‘copy and past’ story of Pride and Prejudice, but it is an amazing tribute that I recommend you to read. It’s one of the best books I read this year.

There are quite a few very sweet scenes, some that have the kind of kiss you love to read about and enough angst between Henry and Spring to make me happy.

Now, I’m sure to read more books written by this author. The voice of this novel still blows my mind. I’m a happy girl and my fan self is very happy. And good news for you! This novel is now available!

Here are all the links you need:

Amazon- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FIL6S7U/
B&N- http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/definitely-maybe-in-love-ophelia-london/1117003657
Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18114819-definitely-maybe-in-love

Who is going to read this one? If you had read it already, what do you think about it? Hot Stuff or not? 😉

Rating:

20131028-173205.jpg

20131028-173229.jpg

4 thoughts on “Definitely, Maybe in Love, by Ophelia London

Leave a Reply

