Review: Moan For Him, by Terry Towers

20131024-145228.jpg

Category: Adult.
Genre: Erotica.
Warnings: taboo relationship, lots of sex scenes, violence. For readers over 18.
Publisher: Soft And Hard Erotic Publishing
Pages: 390

Blurb:

She has always wanted him. There has only ever been one man who has filled Nikki’s fantasies. Hometown hero, Special Agent Grant Rivers. When Grant takes her out for a night on the town, for her nineteenth birthday, Nikki decides it’s time to take matters into her own hands and make her fantasies a reality. He can’t deny her After being away for a number of years Grant is shocked to see the girl he’s once known has turned into a sexy and seductive young woman. And she has her mind set on him! While his will is strong, there is something about the dark-haired beauty that he finds impossible to resist…

Add this books to Goodreads

20131024-145828.jpg

I received an e-copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

Moan For Him is a collection of novellas. It is something I see more and more.

It was my first time at reading a serial kind of story because I find it too expensive, and now, I think it’s not my thing.

While the author’s writing style is great for an erotica book, I couldn’t connect with the characters or even the story. I’m not fan of taboo stories, but when I read that Grant Rivers was not blood related to her because he had been adopted, I was more open to read this niece/uncle story, and I was expecting it to be more used for a better edge that would have been very interesting.

I’m quite disappointed that this story is only about sex and not about characterization too. I read erotica books from time to time and while in these books sex scenes are ever present, I also need some kind of characterization. And when this story is about a taboo relationship with an ‘uncle’ who works for the CIA, I was expecting way more.

Is it because it’s a serial and not just a novel? Maybe, I’m not sure, but I can say that I finished it because I received it from Netgalley and not because I purchase it myself. I can’t rate it badly because the writing style itself is great for an erotica book and because the steamy scenes are well done, but I don’t like the fact that it takes a toll on the overall story.

Nikki is a character that is too juvenil for me, even more so knowing that she’s dating a man over fifteen years older. I couldn’t relate to her and that bothered me.

Grant is quite a likeable character, but his status as Nikki’s ‘uncle’ is not used enough. It would have been really interesting to see him struggle a little with the fact that he’s always seen Nikki as his niece. It would have given him more depth.

Also, I really hate the fact that their family’s take on their relationship is not more present. That is quite a deal breaker for me because it kept me from being swept in the story.

Too many things are overpassed because it’s a serial and not a unique novel, and it frustrated me. I couldn’t feel Nikki and Grant’s seperations because of his work, I couldn’t fear for them when things got dangerous, couldn’t dread their family’s reaction because too many stuffs are not included or are not detailed enough for my taste.

In the end, it could have been an amazing and very thrilling story, but I think that the fact that this story is a serial is not working for me. Even if I read erotica books I expect very much from the plot and the characters. Do I expect too much? Maybe…

If you like serial stories, maybe you will enjoy this one. Let me know what you think about this one!

What do you think? Grant Rivers: Hot Stuff or not? 😉

Rating:

20131024-150650.jpg

2.5 – 3 stars.

Leave a Reply

