Review: The Wager (The Bet #2), by Rachel Van Dyken

20131022-163713.jpg

Category: Adult, but can be read by New Adult readers.
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Warnings: None
Publisher: Forever
Pages: 256

Blurb:

THE WAGER

Lose a bet, lose your heart…

What is it about a junior-high crush that can send an otherwise intelligent woman into a tailspin? TV reporter Char Lynn wishes she knew. Jake Titus is too rich, too handsome, too arrogant: a trifecta that once lured Char into the best night-and worst morning-after-of her life. Now they’ve been thrown together in a wedding party. It’s awkward, but survivable . . . until Jake stops acting like a jerk, and starts acting like the man she’d always hoped he could be.

If watching your brother marry your best friend is weird, being attracted to your best friend’s other best friend is downright bizarre. Unfortunately for Jake, Char hasn’t forgotten how he once tossed her aside. Worse still, Jake’s already-nutty grandma is even crazier about Char. Cue meet-cute shenanigans and all manner of meddling, and somehow, Jake’s falling. For Char. Now all he has to do is make her believe it . . .

Add this book to Goodreads

About the Author:

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she’s not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.
She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband and their snoring Boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers! You can follow her writing journey at http://www.rachelvandykenauthor.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachel-…

Author’s website

20131022-164229.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

The Wager is the second book in The Bet series, but this time around we have Jake Titus’ story, the younger of the two Titus brothers. We hated him in The Bet, but I’ll be damned if you won’t love him after reading The Wager!

It’s not often that I laugh while reading a book, but when it happens, it’s amazing. Jake and Char are the perfect couple, making it impossible to be bored. At every page, there was something new happening and even if the whole book is a fun and light romance, there are a few scenes that made me swoon and almost made me cry. That Jake is an amazing character.

And Grandma! Seriously, it’s impossible to find a more hilarious, crazy and sassy character in a book. And she’s eighty-six! Who wouldn’t dream of having such a grandma? That lady is the heart of this series and just for this character you should read these books. In The Wager, she doesn’t disappoint one bit.

The author’s writing style is still flawless and perfect for such a story. I can’t find a single thing to criticize, and yet I’m trying to find something! This book is a real must-read for me. 🙂

I was also pleased to see a few scenes between Kacey and Travis. It was sweet to see them again and believe me, there’s one scene so beautiful between these two, that you will want to read it.

So yeah, this review is all gushy-swoony, but I can’t help myself. I’m in love with this novel, I’m happy that I read it and I’m, for sure, a fan of this author.

How can’t I when The Wager is well written, the plot well-built and the characters so very charismatic? I needed and wanted a light and fun read and I had it without it being too much or ridiculous.

I recommend this book and the previous installment too. You won’t be disappointed if you’re looking for a light and fun read with a great chemistry between the characters.

I wanted to add quotes to this review to give you an idea of why I laughed so much, but it was too difficult to make a choice. As it is, I would have to put the whole thing in my review!

Who read this series? The Bet? The Wager? Hot stuff or not? Which one is your favorite: Jake or Travis?

Let me know. 🙂

Rating:

20131022-164827.jpg

Leave a Reply

