Review: The Virginity Mission, by Cate Ellink

20131018-093445.jpg

Category: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance, (Erotica?)
Warnings: Open door sex scenes.
Publisher: Harlequin Entreprises Australia
Pages: 100

Blurb:

It’s lust at first sight when Mac sees Jason shirtless and sweating on the back of a truck.Jason is the army sergeant assigned to support the six‐week scientific expedition that Mac isparticipating in, and might just be the perfect candidate for another journey of discoverythat Mac is desperate to undertake — sex.

Fraternisation between students and staff might be strictly prohibited, but everybody knowsfruit always tastes better when it’s forbidden.

Add this book to Goodreads

About the Author:

Cate Ellink became intrigued by the erotic when her grandfather used to pass books to her father saying, “Don’t let the girls read page X.” Although her mother and sisters never bothered to chase those pages, Cate always did. Invariably, her imagination was better than what she read.

While pursuing a career in science, Cate amused herself by writing about ordinary events and giving them an erotic twist. It’s taken more than a few years to bravely expose her mind to the public. While the events in her stories may have occurred, it’s highly likely that her imagination is far more exciting than the reality.

Cate lives near the beach in NSW, Australia, with a long-suffering husband.

Author’s website

20131018-094025.jpg

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

The blurb appealed to me when I was looking for books to request on Netgalley and I must say that I was expecting something else.

The writing style of the author is quite flawless so I can’t – and won’t – rate The Virginity Mission badly. That being said, I didn’t enjoy this story all that much. Half of the time I was bored, missing something to make this whole book more addictive.

There are too many descriptions and while I love descriptions, this time around I think they mostly broke the rhythm of the story. The whole expedition thing could have been more thrilling and even interesting to see more of the interactions between the people in Mac’s group. Instead there are more descriptions.

Also, we still don’t know a thing about Fiona. There were a few hints about her character and I thought that there would be more about her, but not at all, which means that I don’t understand her purpose all that much.

The chemistry between Mac and Jason was good enough, but nothing that will stay with me now that I’m finished reading. It’s too bad because when you’re reading that kind of book, what you’re primarily looking for is a strong and sizzling kind of chemistry between the lead characters. At least, that’s what I’m looking for.

I hate writing such a review because the author is really talented, but I think the plot and characterization are a miss for me. It happens and believe me, it’s difficult for me too.

This novel is not long, the writing is great and maybe Mac and Jason’s story will win you over more than it did it for me.

Let me know what you think about it. 🙂

Rating:

20131018-094535.jpg

Leave a Reply

