Review: Forever Innocent, by Deanna Roy

20131014-092840.jpg

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Category: New Adult
Publisher: Casey Shay Press
Pages: 288

Blurb:

“Our baby died on prom night, and nothing was ever the same again.”

Corabelle doesn’t feel like any of the other college girls. On what should have been one of the happiest nights of her life, she and her boyfriend Gavin watched a nurse disconnect the ventilator from their seven-day-old baby. During the funeral two days later, Gavin walked out and never returned.

Since then, her life has been a spiral of disasters. The only thing that has helped is her ability to black out whenever the pain gets too hard to bear, a habit that has become an addiction.

When Gavin shows up in her astronomy class four years later, he is hell-bent on getting her back, insisting she forgive him. Corabelle knows she can’t resist the touch that fills the empty ache that has haunted her since he left. But if he learns what she has done, if he follows the trail back through her past, her secrets will destroy their love completely. And once again, she’ll lose the only person who always believed she was innocent.

Add this book to Goodreads

About the Author:

Deanna Roy is the author of the novels BABY DUST and STELLA & DANE (Casey Shay Press), interrelated stories on the hardships of finding love and building a family. Her next novel, FOREVER INNOCENT, about a couple who rediscover their love four years after losing their premature baby, will be out Oct. 1, 2013.

Deanna is a powerful advocate for Baby Loss Moms and most of her books touch on this topic. She is the founder of Pregnancyloss.info and hosts numerous public and private support groups both online and in person.

You can follow Deanna and read pre-release sneak peeks and free ebooks on her private list. Subscribe!

Deanna also writes a series of books for middle grade readers under the name D.D. Roy, including JINNIE WISHMAKER and MARCUS MENDER.

She’s pretty easy to spot on Facebook and Twitter.

Deanna Roy’s website

Review:

This book is the first installment of a series, which I didn’t know when I started it. But there is no cliffhanger. I’m not sure if you can perceive how relieved I am. I hate cliffhangers.

I was delighted when I saw on Netgalley that my request to read and review this book was accepted. As soon as I finished reading the blurb I knew that this book was for me. I’m not disappointed!

Not only the writing style was perfect for this book, conveying perfectly the emotions, but it also brought me into the story right away. I was not just reading it, I was feeling for the characters.

“Maybe I shouldn’t quit. Maybe I should keep letting her throw punches at me. If she gave a good hard shove that truly and finally hurt, maybe I’d finally stop wanting her back.”

I seriously love Corabelle and Gavin and I rooted for them right away. These two together are beautiful and that’s also why this story moved me so much. Granted, it’s about one of the most awful loss you can experience and how people grieve, but there’s also hope in this story and it’s about second chances for these people who went through an awful lot. It’s not all dark and you don’t spend hundred of pages crying your heart out – but I did cry at some point which is rare – because this story is also sweet and sexy.

When the characters push each other away a few times, it didn’t annoy me because I could not not understand their fears, guilt and confusion. It’s not often that I understand so much characters.

Of course there are a few things that got me a litte annoyed, like Corabelle’s parents that we don’t see other than in the flashbacks, the end that I think is a little too rushed which means that we don’t have the time to fully feel the anguish, but these are little things that don’t ruin the reading experience, not at all.

“I thought we’d be happy and innocent forever, and that nothing would ever come between us.”

The author wrote an amazing story, one that will stay with me for a while. I can’t wait for the sequel and in the meantime I will keep my fingers crossed for Corabelle and Gavin.

Who read this book? Do you plan on reading it? Feel free to recommend me a book that you think is very emotional and should be read. 🙂

Rating:

20131014-093910.jpg

Leave a Reply

