Review: Right There With You by R.J Sable

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Warnings: Many open door sex scenes, violence, abuse.

Pages: 374

Blurb:

Jamie-Lea Carter has been living under the thumb of her older brothers for eighteen years. Having finally moved out to start her new life as a university student she tries to faithfully follow the strictly ordered life they’ve lain out for her. These rules haven’t been an issue for her before because she knows she owes them everything. More than any sibling can ever owe.

She dutifully follows these rules until she meets Jason Reed and the biggest one becomes a problem. No boyfriends. Torn between her loyalty to her brothers and the sizzling attraction to the intriguing ladies’ man, Jamie-Lea finds herself on dangerous standings with her overbearing and somewhat aggressive brothers.

Jason Reed isn’t intimidated by the Carters. He knows what he wants the moment he sees it and nothing is going to come between him and the girl he never expected to fall for.

With the odds stacked against them, where will this forbidden romance take them?

20131010-172714.jpg

About the Author:

RJ was born in the UK and lived there until she was 21 and newly graduated with a degree in Linguistics and Phonetics. The relocation to Sweden was an easy choice having visited for the first time when she was 17. In her free time, RJ can be found with an impossibly large cup of tea and her nose in a book or fingers wrapped around a crochet hook and a tangled ball of yarn. RJ Sable is a pen name, although it’s not that far off her real name. The choice to use a pen name was based mostly on the fact that her real name is far too long. ‘Right There with You’ was RJ’s first book and a real adventure to write. Jamie-Lea was the name of RJ’s imaginary friend as a child, mainly because Dairylea cream cheese was considered a major food group to mini-RJ. If they sold it in Sweden, her fridge would be full of it.

Author’s website

Add this book to goodreads

Review:

When I found out that this book was free on amazon for a few days, I decided to download it and give it a try. I saw several mixed reviews, some raving, some not and I was quite eager to read it. In the end, I have a hard time rating it. I’m still not sure if 3 stars is appropriate.

The writing itself is good, perfect for this genre. It flows quite well, is descriptive enough when needed and yet not too much to not slow down the dialogues. That can be quite tricky and yet, the author did good.

But, because there’s always a but, I can’t rate it more than 3 stars. It’s not a bad book, it’s quite well written even if there are a few typos, but the story itself and the main character don’t do it for me. Don’t get me wrong, I will read the other books in the series because I’m curious and I want to know where it’s going, but there’re too many things bothering me to rate it four or five stars.

For one, I couldn’t relate much with the main character, Jamie-Lea. I think that at some point, even if I am aware how complicated it is for her to acknowledge her abuse, I don’t understand her and the way she acted throughout the book with her brothers. I guess it was too much for me without enough consequences on her and her psyche. It could have been edgier and I think it would have been for the best.

I also miss something in the Carter family dynamic. It feels too unbelievable at times. I’m pretty sure that it could have been more developped and then I would have been head over heels with this story. Maybe it’s not developped fully because it’s a first installment of a three book series, but still, I couldn’t understand the whole thing. Not to this extent, at least. Is it because I want the Carter brothers more characterized to really “see” how and why they are the way they are? I will probably be able to answer that once I read the sequel.

Jason is a great male lead character, he brings the swoon-worthy and very hot side to this story that would have been, otherwise, a miss. The author did great for us to love him right away. I pitied him several times, though. The Carter brothers made him suffer!

It’s a good book, but since I couldn’t relate to the main character and wasn’t fully engrossed in the book, I was a little disappointed. I already have the sequel on my kindle app, so I will read it soon. Fingers crossed that it redeemed it to me.

One thing is sure, I will read more from this author.

Who read this one? Who added to their tbr? Let me know What you think about Jason! Hot Stuff or not? 😉

Leave a Reply

